RSS

World Down Syndrome Day 2015…

07 Mar

World Down Syndrome Day 2015 (WDSD) is quickly approaching.

This is a day to celebrate those individuals, such as my son Jake, who were born with an extra chromosome.  It is a day to raise awareness, to call for acceptance, to promote inclusion, equality, and respect for individuals with a diagnosis of Down syndrome.  It is a day for our family and friends to be able to celebrate Jake’s life.

WDSD is on March 21.  This date was chosen with purpose:

Down syndrome is also known as Trisomy 21.
Trisomy 21 is 3 copies of the 21st chromosome.
Hence 3/21 = March 21 = World Down Syndrome Day!

This year, WDSD is bittersweet for me.
On March 21, I will be leaving on a jet plane, instead of at home with my family, celebrating WDSD together.

On the one hand, I am disappointed that I won’t be here to celebrate Jake in person. On the other hand, I am so excited to be able to celebrate while in transit to Guatemala, where I will spend the next week and a half volunteering at a school for kids with special needs.

A school that probably has no idea what World Down Syndrome Day is.
A school that is desperately trying to teach the community around them about the value of persons with disabilities.
A school whose teachers pour out their hearts (and often their pocketbooks) to push for a higher quality of life for their students.

Can you see the amazing weaving together of situations, circumstances, and events in my life?
I can’t look at the bigger picture without recognizing its providential nature.

So, whether you are near or far, would you stand in solidarity and support with us on Saturday, March 21!

The official colors for WDSD are BLUE and YELLOW.
I will be wearing my own “321” shirt, my children will definitely be decked out in theirs, and we would love it if you would wear blue and yellow with us!
We would also love to feel connected to you as a larger community.

Send me an email copy of your pics! (www.321joyshop@gmail.com)
Post them to Instagram and tag me in them: @karynmslater
Post them to Twitter and mention me: @karynmslater
Post them on Facebook and tag me in them: Karyn Slater

Thanks friends, both near and far, for the continued and unending support

IMG_5707

 

 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “World Down Syndrome Day 2015…

  1. Roxanne

    March 9, 2015 at 5:09 am

    Good day

    Wonderful that you will be celebrating WDSD this year. Please can you email Down Syndrome International so we can send you instructions on how to add your WDSD event to the Official WDSD Website. If you haven’t already done so.
    Kind Regards
    DSi

     

Leave a Reply

 
