RSS

#ChangingTheFaceOfBeauty…

12 Jan

I love movements.
I love it when small groups of people decide to make a difference in their spheres of influence.
I love seeing an idea grow, flourish, and become something that touches many, and changes the world.
I secretly (or not-so-secretly) hope that I too, one day, can spearhead something bigger than me.

That’s why I’m excited about this movement: #ChangingTheFaceOfBeauty“. It might not be my biggest passion, but it is something I can get on board with, something I can get behind and become excited about. It might not be where I spend all my energy, but it is something I will support and give credence to.

The mission behind the campaign is simple: “to encourage the integration of individuals with disabilities into general advertising and the media” (taken straight from their website, which can be found here). They want to do this to send a message to society; a message I think is well worth the sending ~ namely, that it is okay to have disabilities and challenges, and this does not make one any less worthy, any less beautiful, or deserving of any less respect. They hope to show that beauty is far more than the shallow, superficial spin that our society often puts on it; that beauty can be found everywhere.

Like here…

View More: http://looktwicebykelli.pass.us/slater-family

And here…

View More: http://looktwicebykelli.pass.us/slater-family

The campaign is simple! The folks over at “Changing The Face Of Beauty” are hoping to get 15 major retailers in 2015 to include people with disabilities in their advertising. They are driving this campaign through social media, calling retailers to a higher standard of inclusion.

Here’s what you do to take part alongside them:

Step 1- Share a photo of your little model, or yourself, if you have a disability on your favorite social media outlet. (I am sharing here on my blog, but will also periodically be sharing on my Instagram feed, which can be found here (I am @karynmslater if you are looking for me on Instagram)

Step 2 – Tag the photo with #ChangingTheFaceOfBeauty #ImReady #15in2015

Step 3 – Tag a few major retailers. Pick ones that matter to you.

Step 4 – Tell a friend. Tell lots of friends!

Here’s me, putting my little drop into the big bucket, hoping that with enough drops, we will see a deluge and the face of beauty will begin to change.
So come on:) Share, share, share! Share this blog post! Share pics of your little ones (or mine!). Let’s do this…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “#ChangingTheFaceOfBeauty…

  1. lasandra5

    January 13, 2015 at 1:19 am

    Reblogged this on Thinking 21.

     

Leave a Reply

 
