RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Who’s the Lucky One?…

18 Oct

Happiness.

Today’s word is happiness. Actually, a more suitable word might be thankfulness or gratitude, but seeing as both of these words cause me to feel happiness, I’ll stick with that one for today.

Last week was rough for me.
I have already mentioned that I am tired, that I am waking up multiple times a night with both Noah and Jake, and that my exhaustion is at an all-time high. It was Wednesday morning. My hubby had left early that morning, so I was on a time crunch to get all three kids up, ready, and out the door to drop off Jake at preschool. Enter the biting incident. My emotions, which at the best of times are precariously perched on the edge of a precipice, could not stand up under the pressure of the events of the morning, and I fell apart.

I cried at home, rocking and comforting my baby boy (who incidentally, cried for about 90 seconds and then got over it and was fine). I sobbed into the phone as I called my husband to recount the story. I teared up while saying goodbye to Jake at preschool. I dropped Jake off, stopped in to see the Occupational Therapist that works with his class, and bawled uncontrollably in her office. I left the preschool, tried to forget about my sadness, and failed miserably. I went back to pick Jake up from preschool, and lost my composure again, crying uncontrollably in another office with more staff members. I used more Kleenex that morning than I have in the last two months combined!

Here’s where the thankfulness and gratitude comes in.
I am thankful to everyone in my life who loved me, supported me, encouraged me, and spoke truth to me that day.
I am especially thankful to the women at PREP (www.prepprog.org), the place where Jake goes to preschool. These women are amazing.

First of all, they love my kid. Unconditionally. And not only do they love my kid, but they love my whole family. I can actually feel their love and support, and it is an incredible blessing. For this love, I am undeniably thankful.

Second of all, they went above and beyond for me. It is not in any of their job descriptions to sit and listen to a weepy, bawling mess of a woman. It is not their responsibility to provide a shoulder to cry on. It is not their duty to provide comforting words, to give perspective, to show me the bigger picture, to empathize with me, or to encourage me above and beyond the scope of their job. But they did all those things and more. In my moment of absolute vulnerability and weakness, they treated me with respect, dignity, grace, and understanding. They were a soothing, healing balm for my soul. And for that I am incredibly grateful.

And thirdly, I am forever grateful that my complete and utter meltdown did not change their perception of me. I was able to be fully present in my moment of weakness and have them meet me there. But I came back to preschool this week, and they did not walk on eggshells around me. They did not treat me with pity, or look at me as a weak person. They recognized the moment for what it was, but did not let it define their view of me. My gratitude to these wonderful women runs deep.

Who’s the lucky one?
I am.

Bad day...

Bad day…

Better day.

Better day.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “[31 for 21] ~ Who’s the Lucky One?…

  1. Kathy L

    October 21, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Thank you for your raw honesty. Karyn, you have an amazing heart and your words come from that place. Thank you for again showing us your heart.

     

Leave a Reply

 
