RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Half-Right is Better Than Wrong…

18 Oct

Happiness.

Yep, I picked happiness again today.

This afternoon we attempted bowling as a family, with a whole bunch of family and friends from our church. And now it is 8:08pm, and I am lying in bed typing, completely and utterly exhausted.

I am willing to concede that I was not right. I will not, however, concede that I was wrong. Where does that leave me then? I suppose it leaves me with being half-right, which is always better than flat-out wrong! Intrigued? Let me expand…

Curtis and I debated long and hard over whether or not to go bowling.
He thought it would be too hard. He thought our kids were too little. He thought it might end up being disastrous. He thought our kids would get bored.
I thought it was a great opportunity. I thought it would be a new experience that our kids would love. I thought they could just play with their cousins if they started to get bored. I thought it would be worth the difficulty.

Here is a smattering of what happened in the two hours we were at the bowling alley:

* I didn’t see our 6 month old Noah for most of the afternoon. He just got passed around from person to person. Thank goodness for a great church community who can pick up the slack for us when we are too busy to parent our youngest child!
* We almost lost Jake. Literally. We turned our back for a second and he was gone, and by the time Curtis found him he was one stair away from climbing to the top of the stairs and heading out the front door into the parking lot. Scary.
* Cole thought it would be fun to lie in the gutter and stay there.
* Jake and Cole both ran down one of the lanes, and we had to run after them and retrieve them. Cole only did it once, but Jake did it multiple times.
* Jake felt it would be a good idea to lie down on the part where the balls are, with his head facing the part where the balls shoot up. He was about 2 seconds away from getting smoked in the head with a ball when Curtis noticed and rescued him.
* Cole threw the ball into another lane in the middle of someone’s turn. Multiple times.
* I watched both of my kids’ eyes light up as they got to grab a ball, approach the line, and throw it as hard as they could down the lane. Jake stood and screamed “ball, ball” at the top of his lungs the entire time the ball was slowly making it’s way down the gutter, and then threw his hands up in the air and shouted “hooray”. Cole looked on with pride as he actually knocked a couple of the pins down.

And so, I say that I was half-right, which is better than wrong. Our kids had a fantastic time. They got to experience something new, and the joy that I could see in their faces was definitely worth the effort. But…It. Was. Challenging.

Oh, and the theme was “80’s bowling”. But I hate dressing up. So instead, Curtis dressed up in full 80’s regalia, and I did something different. Check out the pic for yourself:) (Oh and in case you are wondering why I didn’t post any pics of Curtis, it is because we were so busy running after our kids that I didn’t get any on my phone, and I am still waiting for the person who took the picture to send it to me!)

We are all numbers in the 80's...everything from 80-89. A different twist on "80's bowling"...okay I'm a dork!!

We are all numbers in the 80’s…everything from 80-89. A different twist on “80’s bowling”…okay I’m a dork!!

Jake getting ready to bowl!

Jake getting ready to bowl!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Half-Right is Better Than Wrong…

  1. Felicia Cloete

    October 18, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    On second thought, maybe you should just leave the picture of Curtis alone for now. I don’t want to cry again. And I’m sad we were so far away from you guys and I didn’t see what the boys were up to. I can completely imagine the ball, ball, ball, hooray situation and the look on Cole’s face in my mind. I love that I get to know your boys well enough for that.

     
  2. Kathy L

    October 21, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Yup, you’re a dork…. and I understand as I don’t like dressing up either 😀 Good for you for going Karyn. Good for you for learning as you go 😀 ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
