RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Shout Out Saturday…

11 Oct

Hope.

Today’s word is hope (again!).

One of the goals that I have as I continue on the blogging journey is to share stories of our life as a family. It is in the ordinary, everyday experiences that lives are built, that stories are created, and that memories are made. And so there is a part of me that enjoys that this blog is “homegrown”. That it is mainly a blog about us. The good, the bad, and the ugly, with lots of pictures thrown in for emphasis. I don’t ever want that to change.

Another goal, however, is to continue to promote not only awareness of Down syndrome, but acceptance as well. And while I may be learning how to be a better spokesperson, advocate, writer, and mother along this journey, I also recognize that there are others who are much further along the path than I. That being said, from time to time, I think it beneficial to include writings from other bloggers that I highly respect.

Thus the “shout out” for today.

Both of these fellow bloggers are writing about moving beyond having an awareness of Down syndrome, to having acceptance, respect, and love. They are phenomenal writers who are very gifted communicators. They embody the theme of hope through their words, as they envision a world where awareness is just the beginning.

Krista Ewert, author of “One. Beautiful. Life”, writes a blog entitled “Why I Don’t Want You To Be Aware This October”.

Meriah Nichols, author of “A Little Moxie”, writes a blog, featured in the Huffington Post, entitled “Beyond Awareness: National Down Syndrome Acceptance Month”.

I will also leave you with some pics of my kiddos! Enjoy:)

So sweet to see all three of my boys playing together:)

So sweet to see all three of my boys playing together:)

IMG_4911

Just fixing stuff with Daddy!

Just fixing stuff with Daddy!

This kid has amazing cleavage!!

This kid has amazing cleavage!!

Trying on Daddy's glasses...upside down:)

Trying on Daddy’s glasses…upside down:)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “[31 for 21] ~ Shout Out Saturday…

  1. Jenny

    October 12, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    That picture of the baby always cracks me up! lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
