RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Out of the Mouths of Babes…

05 Oct

Hope.

Today’s word is hope.

Last night I had an up-close-and-personal encounter with hope.

Hope that this generation is getting it right.
Hope that what starts from a young age as acceptance and respect will blossom and grow and continue on into adulthood.
Hope that our culture truly is shifting its perspective on disability, and that the next generation will be that much closer to living out the ideals that I have for how my child deserves to grow up and live his life.

I was watching some of my sister’s kiddos for the evening. We were standing in her kitchen, eating a bedtime snack and just chatting. My 7-year-old nephew Jonah turned to me and said “Auntie, I think Noah looks like you”. I made a joke about how I hoped I didn’t have the same amount of adorable baby chub that Noah has, and he assured me that I did not! He then asked me, “does Noah have Down syndrome?” to which I replied that he did not, and that Jake was the only one in our family that has Down syndrome. And the next sentence out of Jonah’s mouth was the impetus for the overwhelming hope I have for this coming generation.

“Auntie, you’re so lucky”, he stated emphatically.

“Why am I lucky Jonah?” I asked.

“Because you have Jake, and Jake has Down syndrome” he replied.

I could have cried.
I am so lucky.

A whole lot of cousins and friends watching a movie together...notice Jonah and Jake cuddled up together...so cute!

A whole lot of cousins and friends watching a movie together…notice Jonah and Jake cuddled up together…so cute!

IMG_9889

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Out of the Mouths of Babes…

  1. Jenny

    October 5, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Awwww. *love*

     
  2. Kathy L

    October 5, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Melt…

     
  3. Brenda Heavenor

    October 5, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    Lucky indeed!! And Jake is very lucky to have such a wonderful family!!

     
  4. genepp

    October 5, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    teary! Wish I could hug them all!!!!
    So proud of all the work God is doing through you girls! What an amazing family I live in!

     

Leave a Reply

 
