RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Dissipated Fears…

04 Oct

Happiness.

Today’s word is happiness.

Just over two years ago, as I was nearing the end of my pregnancy with Cole and anticipating the jump to a family of four, I wrote this in a blog post:

If I were to share my honest and unfiltered thoughts and emotions, this is what I would say:  I am really excited to add another little one to our family!  But I am also having doubts about my ability to do the most I can for Jake with a new little one.  I desperately want to provide Jake with the most opportunities possible, with the best attention that I can, and I want to give him every possible avenue for success, whatever that looks like.

Right now I spend a lot of one-on-one time with him, playing, doing therapy (through play), trying to teach him about his world.  And I am scared.  Scared that I won’t have the time to devote to him, and that he will not flourish as a result.  Scared that my best will not be enough.  Scared that I will always look back and think “I should have done more”.

Looking back on those fears today, I can honestly say that they have all dissipated as I have watched my boys grow up, interact, play, and learn from each other. Cole and Jake are typical brothers; they fight like brothers, they wrestle like brothers, they play like brothers, and they love like brothers. And now that Noah is a little older and becoming more aware of his surroundings, it has been exciting to see the brotherly dynamic expand to include him in the mix.

And so it is scenes like these that make my heart happy today:

IMG_1225

IMG_1233

IMG_4850

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Dissipated Fears…

  1. Jenny

    October 4, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Love that last picture of all three of your boys. They are the cutest 🙂

     
  2. Shannon Edeonu

    October 5, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Awh, I actually laughed out loud. Gotta hand it to you. I have been thinking about a second one and I am scared stiff…finances, attention, my sanity, Im tired etc etc. Props for being such a great mama Karyn!

     

Leave a Reply

 
