RSS

Diggers, Dump Trucks, and Delight…

21 Jul

Our middle child, Cole, is obsessed with all things construction.

It is a fascination that has been ongoing for quite some time now.  It does not seem to be a passing fad, in fact, the longer he spends loving them, the deeper and more concrete his love for them grows!  (Side note: this obsession is fodder for my completely immature and childlike side ~ every time he says “dump truck” the word “dump” ends up sounding more like “dumb”, and the rest, well, you can figure out on your own!  Needless to say, it causes me to chuckle every single time it happens!).

As a result of this love of construction toys, we decided to go with the digger / dump truck theme for Cole’s 2nd birthday.  He. Loved. It.

So did I, but for different reasons.

I loved seeing my child’s face light up the first time we sang “Happy Birthday” to him, and he realized that the candles, the sparklers, the pomp and ceremony, the singing and cheering, were all for him.  The look on his face was priceless.

IMG_4486

I loved watching him make connections about traditions for the first time.  He knows now that on your birthday, you sing, you have cake, you open presents, you have a party.  I delight in watching him grow up and watching things start to stick with him in his memory.

I loved the look on his face as he was opening his presents.  The overwhelmed, “I can’t believe all these presents are for me”, “I’m so happy I don’t even know what to do right now” look of a toddler, completely reveling in the moment.  The look of pure delight.

Happy Birthday to my big boy Cole!  You are such a great kid, we love you so much, and we are so proud of you!

IMG_4480

IMG_0538

IMG_0555

IMG_0583

IMG_0609

IMG_0602

IMG_0624

IMG_0625

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
