RSS

You Win Some, You Lose Some…

17 Jun

I think I might be fighting a losing battle.

The battle of bedtime.

I feel battered.  I feel bruised.  I feel defeated.  I am losing this battle, and a little of my sanity as well.

A couple of weeks ago, we made the decision to switch Jake and Cole into toddler beds.  They have been sharing a room for a while now, and were doing great with the room-sharing, that is until they started being able to climb out of their cribs.  Correction, they could climb out of one of the two cribs in the room (the other one was deeper, and therefore too high for them to climb up and out of).  This new found freedom resulted in many nights of getting out of bed, turning on the light, and playing together.  Whoever was in the short crib (which was usually determined by who we deemed to be the most tired on any given night, and thus less likely to try and escape!) would entertain the other, throwing books, stuffed animals, and other assorted paraphernalia into the deep crib for their poor, trapped sibling.

After a few weeks of this, we decided that since they were hitting this stage, we should just take the plunge and transfer them into toddler beds.  I mean, they were already climbing out of the cribs, what difference would it make if they were climbing out of a bed?  Or so we thought…

As it turns out, I am at my wits end.  We are two weeks in, and while Cole has sufficiently learned that he needs to stay in bed and lie down, Jake is a completely different story.  He. Does. Not. Listen.  I can speak rationally.  I can yell.  I can flick his hand.  I can sit in the room and tell him to lie down every time he tries to climb out of bed.  I can hold him.  I can rock him and sing to him.

Nothing. Works.
Nothing.
He thinks it is funny.  He thinks it is a game.

As a parent, I feel like I should be able to be victorious.  I should be able to figure out a way to get through to my child.  After all, Cole learned the lesson quickly.  But this is a battle that I am losing by a landslide.  And I don’t know what to do.  How much of this is personality related?  How much is related to a diagnosis of Down syndrome?  What can my child comprehend or not comprehend?  Is he too young?  Am I just making excuses for him?  There is a part of me that feels like a failure because I am seemingly unable to get through to Jake regarding the proper protocol for bedtime.

You win some, you lose some.  I seem to be losing this battle.  But mark my words, although I may experience some significant setbacks, I will eventually win the war!  In the meantime, however, ANY ADVICE would be appreciated!!  How do I teach my kid to stay in bed?!

IMG_4166

IMG_4171

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “You Win Some, You Lose Some…

  1. sreld@hotmail.com

    June 18, 2014 at 7:39 am

    have a time out crib in your room…let them bawl, n b in the baby bed
    even if either of them dont get it for awhile i think they will catch on,

     
  2. Jenny

    June 18, 2014 at 7:57 am

    I always dreaded transitioning the kids from crib to bed, it’s such a pain in the ass! lol

    What I do with Russell is I lay him down and then I sit on his floor and read for about 20 minutes. Every time he tries to get up I tell him to lay back down. It usually only takes about 20 minutes. And I’d rather sit in there and nip it right in the bud every time he even attempts to move, rather than keeping coming in and out of his room while he gets in and out of bed. Some parents may disagree with this method but it works for me. And I’d rather get him to sleep in 20 minutes rather than an hour or two, even if it means me sitting in there for a bit.

    Good luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
