RSS

World Down Syndrome Day 2014 (WDSD)…

13 Mar

World Down Syndrome Day 2014 (WDSD) is quickly approaching.

This is a day to celebrate those individuals, such as my son Jake, who were born with an extra chromosome.  It is a day to raise awareness of what life looks like for someone with Down syndrome.  It is a day for our family and friends to be able to celebrate Jake’s life.

WDSD is on March 21.  This date was chosen with purpose:

Down syndrome is also known as Trisomy 21.
Trisomy 21 is 3 copies of the 21st chromosome.
Hence 3/21 = March 21 = World Down Syndrome Day!

Last year for WDSD, we joined in with the “Lots of Socks” campaign put on by www.worlddownsyndromeday.org.  We asked our friends and families to wear crazy socks, in order to raise awareness and to show solidarity with us in supporting Jake.  It was, in my mind, a huge success!  (If you want to read more about it, you can look here, here, or here)

This year we’d like to do something different.  Two things, actually.

The first is easy…
The official colors for WDSD are BLUE and YELLOW.
Would you consider standing in solidarity and support with us on Friday, March 21 in recognition of Jake and so many others like him who have been blessed with an extra chromosome?  All you have to do is wear blue and yellow, and send me a picture!

The second is also simple…
I would like to be able to create a picture of who Jake is, for those who don’t know him or don’t have exposure to individuals with Down syndrome.
A word picture.
Something that I can post on my blog on World Down Syndrome Day, and that I can share on social media.
Something that causes people to stop and reflect on the intersection of their preconceived perceptions of someone with Down syndrome as compared to the words being used to describe an individual with Down syndrome.
Something that will cause people to have a better glimpse into the personality and character of my son.

In order for this to work, however, I need your help!!

I need as many people as possible to give their input.
I would love it if you could send me a short description (3-5 sentences) of who Jake is and/or what he means to you.

I would love to post the word picture on WDSD however, so I would need to receive your contributions by Thursday, March 20.

You can contribute your thoughts, as well as sending me pictures of you wearing blue and yellow, in any of the following ways:
– Leave a comment on this blog post
– Instagram: @karynmslater
– Twitter: @karynmslater
– Facebook (Karyn Slater)
– Email: if you don’t have my email address already, post a comment on my “A Little of This” page, and I’ll send you an email!

I know this is a different approach to raising awareness on WDSD, but my hope is that this word picture will allow people who do know Jake to develop a new appreciation of how others perceive him, and that people who don’t know Jake will be challenged to think differently about people with disabilities, thus raising awareness!

Won’t you please join with me in raising awareness, in showing the world a picture of who Jake is, and in wearing blue and yellow on March 21 to stand in solidarity with my family and so many others?  Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

IMG_3526

IMG_3538

IMG_3546

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “World Down Syndrome Day 2014 (WDSD)…

  1. sreld@hotmail.com

    March 14, 2014 at 7:43 am

    My paragraph,

    I know about Jake and have so much to tell. He leaves and impact on people because he is a blessing to the world from the Lord. He challenges you to be patient and kind, to see the bright side of life and to know that he is curious and so smart! His first word was Elmo and most kids would be jealous of that for sure. He is a child who loves life, lives for his family and most of all shows ME how to understand difference and love it.

     
  2. Rebecca Moschopedis

    March 18, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    To me, Jake is such a strong little boy, in muscle and character. He learned to walk very quickly, he has no fear (especially when swimming), and is very coordinated. Jake also has the best sense of humour, and definitely knows how to cause mischief! As my first ‘student’, Jake has a special place in my heart and I miss being able to watch him learn and grow weekly. I hope that Jake will always enjoy making people laugh, and I cannot wait to see the ‘big boy’ that he will soon become!

     
  3. Ryan

    March 20, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Jake is a wonderful friend and classmate and it is great to be on a shared journey with him. Teo lights up whenever he sees Jake and it is so fun to see the mutual love of Wheels on the Bus.

     

Leave a Reply

 
