RSS

Joy, Unspeakable Joy…

15 Dec

Joy, Unspeakable Joy…

These powerful words are a small excerpt from the lyrics of a Christmas song which blends “Joy to the World” with a song called “Unspeakable Joy”.  The lyrics speak of the joy that we have because of the love of God, who sent his Son to earth.  The joy of Christmas.

As I was thinking about these lyrics, however, I was encouraged in my heart once again by the example of my son Jake.  Jake possesses a rare treasure.  He truly is, more than most people I know, a little boy who is full of joy.  And at this point in his young, 2 1/2 year old life, his joy is literally unspeakable, as he does not yet have the words to be able to describe it.  But anyone who is around him can see.  His joy, his unspeakable joy, is such an example and inspiration to me, the often jaded and cynical one.

I see it on his face as it lights up at the recognition of family members and loved ones.  I see it in his smile as he anxiously turns to me and signs the word “music”, asking me to turn on the Christmas snow globe that sits on our counter, playing multiple Christmas melodies.  I see it as he reads his new favorite book, “Twas the Night Before Christmas”, and eagerly exclaims “Ho, Ho, Ho” every time he sees the picture of Santa.  I see it in the mischievous twinkle he gets in his eye, just before he steals his brother’s toy and runs away, giggling to himself.

Lest you believe that my child is a perfect angel, let me assure you that is not the picture I am trying to paint!  I am well aware of the not-so-picture-perfect moments, the whining, the complaining, the stubbornness, the temper tantrums.  When I look at Jake, however, I really do believe that he has a sort of unspeakable joy that I do not possess.  A type of joy that is present regardless of circumstance.  The likes of which I would love to learn how to cultivate.

Amazing how my toddler can teach me about joy.  Amazing that the one who does not yet speak, can guide me as I attempt to follow his example.  Amazing that joy, such a tricky concept, can be seen so simply in one so young.

This is joy:)

IMG_3237

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Joy, Unspeakable Joy…

  1. sreld@hotmail.com

    December 15, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I love this! God Bless you and your family.

     
  2. Becca

    December 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Oh, gosh, those photos are TOO ADORABLE!!! Love that sweet little face… 🙂 Happy holidays to you all!

     

Leave a Reply

 
