RSS

Let the Christmas Festivities Begin!!

19 Nov

Last weekend we caved.

Correction.

Last weekend my husband caved.  If it were up to him, Christmas festivities would not start until December 1.  If it were up to me, they would start on November 12 (the day after Remembrance Day!).  This year, ours started last weekend!

There was a snowstorm.  It was a full-out blizzard, blustering winds, drifting snow, and icy cold temperatures.  It was awful for anyone who had to brave the great outdoors, but it looked beautiful, white and pristine from the comfort and warmth of our living room.

There was Christmas food and drink.  I braved the snow to make it down the road to the grocery store, buying eggnog, Christmas oranges, and candy canes.  There’s just something to be said for setting the mood through food and drink.

There was the atmosphere.  The scene was set, the music cued and ready to go, the decorations hauled out of the basement, ready to show their festive faces after a long year of hibernation.  Mariah Carey was cranked up, and the decorating commenced!

Sigh of contentment.

I love Christmas.  Absolutely love it.  I love the peace I feel.  I love the music.  I love the decorations.  I love watching my kids experience all of these things.  I. Love. Christmas.

Our day wasn’t as happy, blissful, serene, or perfect as I am making it out to be right now.  We all felt sick still.  The kids were melting down about an hour into the process.  A lot of work was involved.  Some of us would have rather been in bed.  The eggnog leaked all over the store and I had to go get a new one.  A ball got broken.  But still, all in all, it was a great day.  There are some types of joy that just can’t be taken away by less-than-perfect circumstances.  For me, the joy of the arrival of Christmas is one of those types.

It was a great day.

IMG_8760

IMG_8762IMG_8766

IMG_8781

IMG_8782IMG_8784

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
