RSS

[31 for 21] ~ A Whole Lotta Happy!!

30 Oct

Today we celebrate!
Today we are a whole lotta happy!

This morning was Jake’s yearly check-up with his Pediatric Cardiologist.  For those of you who are newer to my blog, let me back up a bit, or you can read this blog post for more background.  Jake was born with a hole in his heart.  The hole is called an “ASD”, or “Atrial Septal Defect”.  If left unchecked and untreated, it can lead to a whole host of complications down the road, and so we have been keeping a watchful eye on it since the day Jake was born.

The good news is that these types of holes can often close on their own, given time and growth.  Needless to say, however, when someone tells you that your baby boy has a heart issue, you worry.  And worry I have done…

Two years ago, when he was only 6 months old, the ASD was measuring 4-5mm.  Last year, when he was 1 1/2 years old, the ASD was down to 2mm.  Today, at our annual check up, at 2 1/2 years old, THE ASD IS GONE!!!  Yep, gone!!

Jake’s heart looks normal.  There is no more enlargement of certain chambers.  It sounds great.  There is no murmur.  2 1/2 years into this journey of worrying, we have been officially discharged from our Pediatric Cardiologist, and I can officially say that I no longer need to worry about Jake’s heart.  BEST. DAY. EVER!!

How I have felt throughout this whole "ASD" journey...

How I have felt throughout this whole “ASD” journey…

How I feel today!!...

How I feel today!!…

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ A Whole Lotta Happy!!

  1. Maureen Slater

    October 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Oh that is great news!!!! Thank you!!!
    Gramma Slater
    xxoo

     
  2. Cindy Waller

    October 30, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    So happy to hear this good news, Karyn!

     
  3. Wendy E

    October 30, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Great news Karyn! So happy for you!! And just wanted to let you know that although I don’t usually comment on your blog, I read it faithfully and love it (& you)!

     
  4. merissa11

    October 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    YAAAAAY!!!
    I so enjoy reading your blog my friend! *hugs

     
  5. Laura

    November 1, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Great news!

    I have a questions though. My daughter has had numerous cardio visits for an ASD, VSD, & cleft valve. Thankfully none of these problems has affected her and her ASD has closed on its own. She is only going every few years now. I’d like to know which tests allows them to give you those measurements. I’ve heard other talk about the size of the hole in their child’s heart too but I am always told they can’t give me a measurement. It makes no sense to me.

    Thanks 🙂

    http://downsyndromeupupupandaway.blogspot.com

     
    • karynslater

      November 10, 2013 at 3:54 pm

      Hey:)
      Every time we went Jake would get an ECG and an ultrasound. It seemed to me that they could tell the size of the hole by the results of the ultrasound…
      That was our experience anyway:) Good to know that K isn’t being affected by her heart issues though…what a relief:)

       
      • Laura

        November 17, 2013 at 9:01 am

        Thanks 🙂
        We have an appointment coming up on the 9th. I’m going to ask again & ask why they can never tell me this info – it really does not make sense. She has has numerous ultrasounds.

        Thanks again

        Laura
        downsyndromeupupupandaway.blogspot.com

         

Leave a Reply

 
