RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Hopes and Dreams

22 Oct

What do you ultimately hope for with Jake?

Ultimately, I hope that Jake is able to reach his full potential.  I wish I could expand more on what that means, but I feel like at this point in his young life, he is just beginning his journey, and there are still a plethora of unknowns.

I do, however, have the same hopes and dreams for both of my boys.  I am coming to terms with the fact that the way these hopes and dreams play out in each of their lives may look incredibly different, both because of personality, as well as the role that Down syndrome will play.  The gist, however, remains the same:

I hope that my children love, and are loved.  That they have the opportunity to be surrounded by a community of people who truly love and cherish them.  That they find true joy and contentment from knowing that they are surrounded by love.  If nothing else, this would be my deepest desire for my children.

I hope that my children develop strong morals, values, character, and faith in God.  My desire is to see them live out these things in all of their decisions, in all of their strivings, in all of their interactions, and in all of their relationships.  I desperately want to instill in them a strong sense of self-worth, and the kind of character that lives out their morals, values and faith without wavering in the face of criticism or opposition.

I hope that my children will develop their gifts and talents, and that they will have opportunity to use them.  Whether this opportunity looks like a full-time vocation, a part-time job, a hobby, a volunteer opportunity, or a service opportunity, I would love it if they could use their gifts and talents.

Lastly, I hope that my children are happy.  Not the I-need-everything-to-be-perfect-in-order-to-achieve-satisfaction type of happiness, but the true happiness that is inwardly present, despite outward circumstances. The true contentment that comes from the heart, and that cannot be swayed by situational issues or concerns.  The happiness that comes from knowing that your life has meaning and purpose.

Those would be my ultimate hopes for Jake.  And for Cole:)
That’s not too much to ask, is it?!

IMG_8355

Jake is signing “book” here:) He loves him some books!

IMG_8356

IMG_8357

IMG_8358

IMG_8364

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Hopes and Dreams

  1. Kathy L

    October 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Nope…. definitely not too much to wish for…. : ) You worded that perfectly Karyn!
    P.S. I love Cole’s freshly combed hair – so cute!!!

     
  2. sreld@hotmail.com

    October 22, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    nope! Mine are the same for Elijah, it was a hard question to answer in his baby book though

     

Leave a Reply

 
