RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Not A Great Day

21 Oct

I had grandiose plans of writing a great blog today.  Alas, it was not to be…

We got back from our mini-vacation last night.  I woke up this morning, full of joy in being reunited with my kids, and full of energy, having just had the chance to relax and refresh for the past few days.  The plan was go to swimming for Jake this morning, spend some time with our Developmental Aide, and then come home, put the kids for nice long naps, and get some thoughts down on paper.

Unfortunately, most of my day looked like this:

IMG_3085
For those of you who may not know what that looks like, let me explain!  Those are pictures of Jake and I, sitting in the Emergency Room at the Alberta Children’s Hospital.  Yep, we spent most of the day in the ER.

It all happened so quickly.  We were finished swimming.  Jake was lying on the changing table, a scant couple of feet off the floor.  I turned my head to wave hello to a friend, while simultaneously rummaging through the diaper bag to find clean clothes.  In the 2 seconds that I was not paying attention, Jake, always the comedian, decided it would be funny to roll off the changing table.  Evidently, despite my best effort to slow him down during his descent to the cold, hard cement floor, his right collarbone made first contact, the floor delivering the fatal blow.

Jake cried pretty hard, which was my first tip-off, since he usually doesn’t cry for very long when he hurts himself.  I decided that since we were already at the hospital, I should probably get him checked out.  I kept saying to the staff “I wouldn’t have brought him in, except that the last time he cried this hard was when he broke his collarbone” (yep, this is the second time he’s broken his collarbone…albeit this time it was the other side.  For more on that story, read here).  And sure enough, three hours later, we have a verdict.  The collarbone is broken:(

So, my grandiose plans went right out the window.  It was not a great day…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Not A Great Day

  1. Kathy L

    October 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    Oh crap…. that is not fun… I’m sorry your day turned out this way…. Hope Sir Jake is feeling better really soon!!!

     
  2. Karin

    October 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Karyn, my heart goes out to you and that crazy Jake…goodness knows we’ve been close with Teo and his antics!

     
  3. Becca

    October 23, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    Oh, no!! Poor Jake…ugh. I hope his recovery is easy and quick. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
