RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Guest Post by Gramma!

20 Oct
IMG_8425
I am not blogging today:)
I have a guest blogger…my mother-in-law, Jake’s “Gramma Slater”!
I thought it would be interesting to hear from other people who have an influence in Jake’s life, so I asked his Gramma Slater, and his Grandpa Hill (my dad).  Today is Gramma Slater’s turn!  Enjoy…
I remember it so well.  Curtis and Karyn came over to show us their honeymoon pictures of Italy.  They got to the very last picture, which was nothing but a date written down.  I had no idea what they were getting at, and it took me a while to figure out that it was their way of telling Curt’s dad and myself that Karyn was pregnant!  We were elated!  They were both so excited and I had never seen Curt so happy.  I knew that he would be an amazing dad, and that Karyn would be an awesome mom.  Curt’s dad and I were overjoyed at the thought of being grandparents to this new little baby.
It was May 13, 2011 when we got the call from Curtis saying that he had taken Karyn to the hospital because the ultrasound that Karyn had that day showed that the baby wasn’t growing as it should.  Curt told us that they would give Karyn steroids for two days and then do a c-section to deliver the baby.  My heart sank as I realized how tiny this baby would be, at only 33 weeks along.  I told Curtis that his dad and I would be praying for all of them.  And boy did we pray.
Curt called us on May 15 to tell us that Karyn had just given birth to a 3 lb. 5 oz. baby boy.  He sounded like such a proud dad and I could hardly wait to meet our tiny new grandson, Jake.
Curt called us the next day and told me that they were going to do genetic testing on Jake because they suspected Down syndrome.  I tried to be so calm and reassuring as I spoke to him but inside I was a wreck.  I could hear the concern in his voice and I wanted to somehow make it all better.  Again I prayed.  Curt called later and said that the test results showed that Jake did have Down syndrome.  His voice was strained and I could tell that he was having a hard time maintaining his composure as he spoke to me.  My heart broke for my son, his wife, and for the unknown future that lay ahead.
The Sunday after hearing the news about our precious Jake, Curt’s dad and I went to church as usual.  My heart was heavy and I had so much that I needed to talk to God about.  In the row right in front of us sat a mom, dad, and their two teenage sons.  I had never seen this family in church before.  It didn’t take long for me to notice that the one son had Down syndrome.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of him.  I watched this family interact with the boy, and with each other.  The service started and the boy with Down syndrome kept gently poking the other brother trying to get him to look at something he had drawn on a paper.  The brother looked at the drawing and smiled encouragingly before kindly motioning for him to “shhh”… The boy with Down syndrome smiled and went back to his drawing.  A few minutes later he leaned over and began to whisper something in his brother’s ear.  The brother listened patiently and chuckled quietly at whatever it was he had said, before gently motioning again for him to “shhh”…  A few minutes passed before the boy with Down syndrome thought of something else that just “needed” to be shared with his brother.  Again the brother patiently and lovingly responded to him.  The parents at this point both looked over at the boy, smiled kindly, and made soft “shhh” sounds to him.  The boy with Down syndrome smiled, nodded and then proceeded to rest his head on his brother’s shoulder, where it stayed for the rest of the church service.  God used this family to speak comfort, encouragement and hope to my uncertain and hurting heart.  It was going to be okay, and the future looked extremely bright.
Jake has been an absolute joy and blessing to our entire family.  Karyn and Curtis do have much on their plate as Jake’s health concerns require many appointments with therapists and Doctors.  He has problems with speech, hearing, and mobility and attends many classes throughout the week.  The burden of this falls mostly on his parents’ shoulders.  As grandparents we try to help as much as we can, but mostly we just get to love and enjoy Jake.   He is an amazing little guy who has the ability to “light up the room” when he is present.  At family gatherings everyone wants to hold him and interact with him.  I have heard family members say, “It’s my turn to have Jake, you’ve had him long enough”.  I myself, absolutely delight in the times that I get to babysit Jake, and have him “all to myself”.  I can say with complete sincerity that Jake is a very special gift to our family.  I am so very grateful that God trusted us with him.

IMG_8416

IMG_8428

IMG_8414

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Guest Post by Gramma!

  1. Kathy L

    October 20, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    Oh man…. again with the Kleneex…. what a beautiful post Grandma Slater…. and what a gift that young man must have been that morning… I love how God uses small moments to speak directly to our hearts. Thank you for sharing from your point of view.

     
  2. sreld@hotmail.com

    October 20, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Amen, I too have to go get some tissue, Gramma is great, just like mine!

     

Leave a Reply

 
