RSS

[31 for 21] ~ An Opportunity to Question

10 Oct

I keep putting off this post.  I keep hesitating.  I keep stalling.

I think it’s a good idea, one that I’ve garnered from other wise writers who I respect and admire.  The difference, though, is this: I am scared of the response.  Or, more accurately, I am worried about the possible lack of response.

In my post from a few days ago (3 Things I Wish You Would Do), one of the things I mentioned is that I absolutely love it when people ask questions.  Asking questions opens up dialogue, allows us to speak openly and honestly, and therefore gives us better understanding and insight.

So here’s what I’d like to do:  I’d like to have you ask some questions, that I could answer (or at least attempt to answer!) over the rest of the month in some of my posts.

A few provisos:
1.  I don’t pretend to have all the answers!  But if I don’t know something, I’ll do my best to find out.
2.  I’m not an expert by any stretch.  I’ve only been at this thing for a couple of years.  I still have a lot to learn.
3.  This won’t work unless you ask questions!!  So please, please ask!

There are a few ways to leave a question:
Leave a comment on this post.
Leave a comment on my facebook page (for those of who you are on my facebook!).
If you want to ask something anonymously, you can leave a comment as “anonymous”.
If you don’t want anyone else to see your question, you can go to my “A Little of This…” page and whatever you type in the text box will be sent to me in an email, and will not appear anywhere on my blog.

So, please don’t leave me hanging!!

And finally, a couple of pictures to start the day:)  My children decided to show off their musical abilities this morning!

IMG_8253

IMG_8256

IMG_8262

IMG_8263

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ An Opportunity to Question

  1. Jazz fan

    October 10, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Cole looks like Dizzy Gillespie in that picture. So awesome.

     
  2. Julie

    October 10, 2013 at 10:43 am

    What are some things that have surprised you about Down Syndrome?

     
  3. Kathy L

    October 10, 2013 at 11:04 am

    Way to step out there Karyn! I will leave a question on your fb page.

     
  4. Shannon

    October 10, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    What do you ultimately hope for with Jake? With Elijah this was a hard question for me to answer too. I decided that I hope he can love God always, stand honestly and respectfully before women and value an education.

     
  5. Ange Quapp

    October 10, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    I have my own sense of needing to educate people about an ‘issue’ regarding lack of knowledge about Epilepsy. My husband has Epilepsy and I want people to understand it/him better, do you think blogging has been helpful in educating the ‘masses’ about DS? Would you read a blog about Epilepsy or any other health matter? To answer my own questions, I have read your blog regularly and I appreciate your candidness and I value what I have learned. Would there be anything that you might be interested in learning about Epilepsy and the struggles my husband faces?

     
  6. Virginia

    October 12, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Karyn, first of all I love your blog and admire your openness and willingness to share your journey with your readers! Jake is such a precious little guy and you and Curtis are doing a marvelous job of parenting him! I have learned so much about DS from reading your posts, and have a whole new appreciation for what parents of kids with special needs deal with day by day. You are incredible!!
    My question arises from remembering some of my own thoughts when I was expecting my children. I contracted a virus when I was working at ACH and pregnant with my first and was advised that I should abort my baby. I was told that the likelihood of having a “normal” child was minimal, and if I carried the baby to term, we should be prepared for blindness, heart defects, and severe learning disabilities. Believing that God would give us the child He wanted us to have, we “prepared” for disappointment and the loss of the dreams we had. But I also said that if our child had any sort of disability, we would never have another.
    So here is my question………..Were you afraid to conceive again?

     
  7. incredabletoys

    October 28, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    This probably isn’t the type of question you were expecting; but, since I write a blog about toys for differently abled children (called IncredABLE Toys), what are your child’s favorite toys? (He seems to love his instruments!) At the top of my homepage, there’s a tab labeled “Share Your Toys!” If you’re willing, I would love for you to leave a response there, to tell my readers about your kid’s favorite playthings! You are also welcome to ask me for recommendations, and to mention your own blog. Hopefully we can help each other spread awareness!
    P.S. My younger brother has DS, and I love when people ask me questions, too! Thanks for sharing your story!

     

Leave a Reply

 
