RSS

[31 for 21] ~ “Wordless” Wednesday…

09 Oct

…and Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Wordless.

That is Jake thus far.  Wordless.  Non-verbal.  Non-speaking.

Here are the things I know that contribute to this:

1. Jake has Down syndrome.  Little ones with Down syndrome take longer to learn how to talk.  Partially because they have some cognitive delays, and partially because they have low muscle tone, which affects the muscles of the mouth and tongue, which are very important for speech.
2. Jake has some conductive hearing loss, due to fluid build-up in his ears.  It is hard to learn how to speak properly if you are unable to hear properly (for more on our journey in this area, look here or here)
3. Jake is rockin’ some other skills.  His social skills are amazing (as anyone who’s met him will know!)  He walked really early.  His gross motor skills are awesome.  But because he is so mobile, all his energy has gone into those skills.  He has not had a lot of mental energy left over for learning how to speak.

It’s not that Jake doesn’t know how to communicate.  Oh my word does he ever!  He is pretty good with signing.  His non-verbal communication, while sometimes frustrating to decipher, is constantly improving.  He is 100% personality, he knows exactly how to make known his wants and desires, and he is learning more every day.

But still…

We are waiting (often not-so-patiently) for a word.  For the day Jake says “Mommy”.  Oh how I long for that day!

IMG_3026

IMG_3027-1

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ “Wordless” Wednesday…

  1. Jenny

    October 9, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    *sigh*, I just wrote about this too. Speech is a tough one, I know how you feel.

     
  2. Shannon

    October 9, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    xoxx. I worked with so many DS adults in university and they all had speech ability. Patience is the key I think. He is in a safe loving and healthy environment. His pace will be the best one so he also has confidence.

     
  3. Kathy L

    October 9, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    I look forward to the day when you post about Jake saying “Mommy”! It’s coming 🙂 praying for patience for you as you wait….

     
    • Carolynne friesen

      October 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      What a precious gift to the world your beautiful Jake is. We too have a little person who’s speech was delayed, she was well over three. My heart melts when she grabs my face in her two precious hands and says grama I love you.

       
  4. Jen Winter

    December 8, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Hi Karyn, we have only met once in person, but I stumbled across your blog awhile ago and have really enjoyed reading. And then today, I stumbled into your church 🙂 you were not there, but if was told about you as soon as I mentioned that my daughter, Anaya (3.5yrs), has DS, and I connected the dots! Anyhow, Anaya’s weakness is also speech and I just wanted to say “I feel ya!”. Hope to see you in person again soon!

     
    • karynslater

      December 11, 2013 at 11:13 pm

      Jen!
      I remember meeting you! And was really disappointed that we weren’t there on Sunday…we actually were at the Ups & Downs Christmas party:) Please come back again…would LOVE to connect with you! Or, let’s just meet up one day for coffee or something. Seriously! I would love that… Oh, and my sister said that Anaya is adorable and she fell in love with her:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
