RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Never Underestimate

08 Oct

Never underestimate.

Yesterday, on a whim, I decided to let Jake help me make banana bread.

The idea came to me after reading a post from a fellow blogger, Leah, over at Our Cora Bean.  She talked about how she and her daughter (who incidentally, is just about the same age as Jake) made pancakes for breakfast.  Together.

The whole time I was reading the post, I couldn’t help but think:

“I have never even considered baking with my children!”

For reasons of safety (both mine and theirs), sanity (mostly mine!), and selfishness (I can often be lazy when it comes to cooking, and don’t want to clean up any more of a mess than I absolutely have to!), I had never previously considered including Jake or Cole in the baking process.

Later on in the day, I wanted to bake banana bread.  With the vision of Leah’s cooking experience mulling around in my head, I reluctantly pulled up a chair beside the counter and asked Jake if he wanted to come and watch me.

To my surprise, he was enthralled.
To my shock, he stood there the whole time, paying attention to every. single. detail.
To my delight, he had the best reactions.  He screamed with excitement every time I dumped a new ingredient in.  He gave it his all as he stirred with all the force he could muster (I was also holding onto the spoon for dear life).  He interacted.  He loved it!  He didn’t try and throw things, or destroy things, or wreck things.
To his credit, he was completely engaged, and appropriately behaved.

I never in a million years would have imagined that baking with my two and a half year old would go so well.  I never in a million years would have thought that he would have enjoyed himself so much.

The lesson for me:  Never underestimate.

**I didn’t take any pictures of the process, because quite frankly, I didn’t trust him that much!!  But here are a couple other pictures of one of their newest obsessions in the kitchen**

IMG_8151

IMG_8162

IMG_8156

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Never Underestimate

  1. Gina

    October 8, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Things like this will be both of your favorite memories:) good job Momma! You’re brave;)

     
  2. anna

    October 8, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    Lol! Love it! Great upper body skills your two boys have. Not the safest place to practice, but they sure look like they are having a blast!!

     
  3. Ryan

    October 8, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    You inspired us to try this since we had some brown bananas anyway….Turned into more of an early bath for Teo and eggs and flour cleanup off counter/cupboards/floor. Perhaps not a tight enough grip but the banana bread still turned out pretty good with Ady’s insistence on adding chocolate chips.

     
  4. Shannon

    October 8, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    This is marvelous! I love it. Cute cute cute!

     

Leave a Reply

 
