RSS

[31 for 21] ~ “It’s Okay”

05 Oct

It is a typical weekday in our house.
My husband walks in the door after work, and both children notice he is home.  Their faces light up, grinning from ear to ear, and they run over to the baby gate.  They wait not-so-patiently for Curtis to come up the stairs and envelope them in his traditional “I’m-home-from-work” hug, throwing them up and down in the air until they squeal with laughter.

Curtis then heads into the kitchen, kisses me on the cheek, and asks me “how was your day”?
If your experience is anything like my own, you will relate with me when I say that my answer is almost always the same:

It was okay.

His response to this is usually predictable.  “Just okay?”, he asks.  “Yep”, I reply, often feeling a twinge of guilt for not having made my day sound better.

Which has caused me to examine myself lately.  What does it mean that I always answer with “it was okay”?  Does it mean that I am discontent?  Does it mean that I am not happy or joyful?  Does it mean that I am not trying hard enough to “up the ante” to the point where I can say I had a great day?  Does it mean that I have a bad attitude?  Does it mean that I am doing something wrong?

The answer to all of the above questions, after some heartfelt examination, is a resounding “NO”!
And after much personal reflection, I am at the point where I can say this:

It is okay to say “it was okay”!!!

It is setting myself up for failure to assume that every day is going to be an over-the-moon, exhilarating, earth-shattering day.  Let’s be honest: day-to-day life is often mundane.  Routine.  Dare I say, boring?!

That doesn’t mean, however, that I don’t love my life.  That I don’t cherish my kiddos.  That I don’t celebrate and participate in life in all its facets: the good, the bad, and the ugly.  Because I do.

I often feel guilty about stating that my day was just okay.  This is something I am working on changing.  And for those of you out there who possibly have days in which you feel the same, let me leave you with this…

It’s okay.

IMG_8122

IMG_8127

IMG_8128

IMG_8131

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ “It’s Okay”

  1. april narretto

    October 5, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    just found your blog. your boys are just too handsome

     
  2. Shannon

    October 5, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    XOXX

     
  3. genepp

    October 6, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Love!! Jake is getting so big and so manly!!! Love them both!!! xoxox

     

Leave a Reply

 
