RSS

[31 for 21] ~ Here We Go Again!

01 Oct

A couple of days ago, I realized that October was quickly approaching.

For some, this may mean nothing more than the promise of beautiful fall leaves, crisp mornings with late sunrises, Thanksgiving dinner (for all of us Canadians!), and, of course, Halloween.

For me, October has also taken on a new meaning.

Last October, as some of you may remember, I took part in something called the “31 for 21” Challenge.  I blogged every day for the month of October, in order to raise awareness of Down syndrome.

Refresher Course:
Down syndrome is Trisomy 21, a 3rd copy of the 21st chromosome
There are 31 days in October
Hence, the “31 for 21” Challenge

As this October quickly approached, I debated whether or not to take part in the challenge this year.

On the one hand:
~ It is hard to blog everyday!
~ It requires more discipline than I can usually muster.
~ I don’t have much to say about Down syndrome these days, as it has become enmeshed in the everyday fabric of our lives.
~ I have this fear that no one cares.  Or that no one will read my blog.  Or that people will think I’m just some sort of crazy woman who won’t stop talking about her child, or about Down syndrome.  (Hmm…do you think perhaps I’m a people pleaser?!)

On the other hand:
~ Discipline is good for the soul.
~ I love sharing my heart.
~ I sincerely valued and appreciated some of the dialogue that came out of last year’s challenge.
~ At the end of the day, I’d like to think that I write for me, not to cater to the expectations of others.
~ While difficult at times, I really enjoyed the experience last year.

So, with that being said…
Here we go again!!

IMG_7962

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “[31 for 21] ~ Here We Go Again!

  1. Kathy L

    October 1, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    I am again amazed Karyn…. good for you! Looking forward to sharing the 31 days with you!

     
  2. Therie Brinston

    October 1, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Hi Karein(I know I spelt it wrong)

    I wanted to tell you, that I love your blog, I love your insight your honesty and feel when you struggle and are so open to telling others. You have a lot of Grace. My heart is full of joy when you put pictures up and I can’t help but feel an overwhelming sense of love for you and your family. Keep blogging and know that there are more readers then you think.

    Therie

     
  3. Virginia

    October 1, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I love your blog too Karyn, and am looking forward to reading your wise words everyday this month!

     
  4. Krista

    October 1, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Looking forward to reading this month Karyn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
