RSS

In 3 Short Years…

16 Sep

Last week my husband Curtis and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary:)

My wedding day will stand out in my memory forever ~ a snapshot of a life that was carefree, joyous, exhilarating, filled with excited anticipation of the start of our life together and the beginning of our journey as a married couple.  Look at how cute we were.  Look at how innocent and “unweathered” we look.  (also, look at how skinny I was…it’s hard to believe I was ever that skinny!!)

DSCN0627
Fast forward 3 years, and I have some thoughts!

First of all, life has changed a lot in three short years:)
If I could have predicted the way life would unfold, there’s no way I would have predicted being where we are today.  If someone had told me on our wedding day that just 8 months later, we would be giving birth to our first baby boy, a tiny little 3lb 5oz preemie who happened to have Down syndrome, I think I would have laughed in their face and told them that there is no way that was how our story was going to unfold.  If someone else had told me that just 14 months after the birth of our firstborn son, we would welcome another son into the world, I would have stared at them in disbelief.  And if someone else had thought to mention that we would welcome our third child into the world before our oldest child turned 3, I think I would have sent them to get checked out!
Yes, life has changed a lot in three short years:)

Second of all, life has become way crazier in three short years:)
Our first few months of marriage, I remember feeling like we were always rushed.  We got up, went to work, came home, ate dinner, went out with friends, slept in on the weekends, crammed as many activities as possible into our free time, and had a full life.  When I look back now though, I feel like as crazy as I thought my life was then (and it was lived at breakneck speed!), life is crazier now!  A totally different sort of crazy.  But crazy nonetheless.

And third of all, life has taken on a depth of meaning that I didn’t know existed.
I could never have predicted on my wedding day 3 years ago the depth that I would feel as I stand here, three short years later.  Curtis and I have struggled together.  We have walked through deep waters.  We have rejoiced and mourned, grieved the loss of what we thought we would have, and replaced our grieving with joy as we have watched our epic story unfold.  We have weathered some pretty big storms.  We have grown closer together, learned how to really trust, love, cherish, respect, and honor each other.  And just think…if this is how I feel after only 3 years, what amazing things we have to look forward to over the next 50:)

In 3 short years, the whole world can change.
In 3 short years, our epic story has continued to evolve.

I am so grateful for the 3 short years.  And so looking forward to the ones that lie ahead.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “In 3 Short Years…

  1. Kathy L

    September 16, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    Wait, what?!? Third child before Jake is 3….. congrats to you guys!!!

     
  2. bonnie

    September 16, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    What?! Congrats, guys! And what a great perspective to have in the ups and downs… God is so faithful! 😀

     
  3. bateminx

    September 17, 2013 at 5:57 am

    Happy anniversary, and many happy and love-filled years to come!

     
  4. Laura

    September 17, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Happy anniversary and congrats on baby #3!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
