RSS

A Day of Firsts…

27 Jun

Yesterday was a day of firsts in our household!

When it comes to Jake’s development, I find myself oscillating between polar opposite emotions.  On the one hand, I go through waves of feeling discouraged at Jake’s progress, the slower rate at which he is learning, and the stagnancy in reaching milestones that sometimes seems to press on endlessly.  On the other hand, however, I am encouraged, ecstatic even, as I take stock of all the ways he has grown and developed since the last time I was in a funk.

Currently, I am just in awe at how much my kiddo is learning.  Now that he has the walking thing mastered, I am finding that he really is turning his attention more towards communication.  He does not communicate with words yet; in fact, I would wager a guess that he is still far from it.  His non-verbal communication skills are taking off these days though:)  I feel like he is constantly learning more signs, and he has definitely mastered the art of letting us know when he wants something (or doesn’t want something!).  Yesterday he learned the sign for “auntie”…and for those of you who are not on Instagram and haven’t seen this video yet, (you can follow me at @karynmslater) here he is!

And, another huge first in our house yesterday…my littlest guy Cole, who is just over 11 months old, took his first independent steps!  I am a proud mama!  I am also amazed at how seamless and easy the process has been for Cole as compared to Jake, and this gives me an even deeper desire to cherish all of these moments with Cole, because they really are much more fleeting.

Yesterday was a happy day…a day of firsts.  I’m excited to see what tomorrow will bring:)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “A Day of Firsts…

  1. Maureen Slater

    June 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    Way to go Jake!! Sign “Gramma” next! xxoo
    Good walking Cole! We are so proud of you! xxoo

     
  2. Laura Janson

    July 3, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    So exciting!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
