RSS

Post-Surgery Blues…

11 Jun

I have the post-surgery blues today.

I am thankful that my surgery, although very difficult according to my doctor, went well overall.
I am grateful that, barring any unforeseen circumstances, I am on my way to recovery.
I am appreciative of the medical care that I have received, and the urgency with which I received it.

But I have the post-surgery blues.

j
I am still in a significant amount of pain.  My wrist hurts almost constantly.  My hip is causing me grief (the surgeon ended up doing a bone graft from my hip to help replace the degenerated bone in my wrist).  I have fits of claustrophobia because I can’t move my hand or wrist at all, and I feel trapped.

The worst part, however, is that I feel so utterly helpless.  Things that I took for granted I am now unable to do.  Things that are important to my stage of life…like getting my children in and out of car seats.  Like changing diapers.  Like folding laundry.  Like washing bottles.  Like giving my children baths.  Like putting together and taking apart a stroller.  Like typing a blog post with two hands.  (yep, this is one-handed…so it’s not going to be long!)

j
The people in my life have been amazing through this whole ordeal.  My husband Curtis has stepped it up even more than his usual awesome self.  My parents, my sister, my friends, they have all been incredible, helping me watch the kids, making meals for me, making sure we are taken care of and that I am not trying to do too much.  I have much to be thankful for, and I do not take any of that for granted.

But I have the post-surgery blues.  I want to be able to do it on my own.
I’m allowed to have a moment…right??!!

Look how cute my kids are though!

IMG_2501

IMG_2471

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Post-Surgery Blues…

  1. Anna

    June 11, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    I hope you recover fast!! Your kiddos are amazingly gorgeous!

     
  2. Kathy L

    June 11, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    You are sooooo allowed to feel all of the above… Hang in there Karyn…. Praying for a speedy recovery and a goodnight’s sleep!

     
  3. Laura Janson

    June 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Hope your recovery is super fast!

     

Leave a Reply

 
