RSS

Brothers For Life!!…

23 Apr

IMG_6684
My sister has five boys.
I’m not exactly sure when she started this, but when her kiddos were a little younger and she had to sort out an argument between any of them, she would always make them apologize to each other, hug, and yell “brothers for life”!!  (Incidentally, when my sister and I were little, our mother also made us stand face-to-face, apologize, and hug.  We hated it.  But I guess she knew what she was doing…!)

The moment we had our 18-week ultrasound with Cole and found out that we were having another boy, I was ecstatic!  I was so excited for Jake to have a brother so close to him in age, a brother that he could grow up with and be “brothers for life” with.

Up until recently, I think someone forgot to pass on the message to Cole that he is supposed to get along with his brother!  I’m sure it didn’t help that Jake was stuck for a looooooooooong time in the pulling hair phase, so whenever Jake would walk close to Cole, he would cringe and start crying.  Just in the past few weeks, however, I have noticed a HUGE difference in the way they are interacting with each other, and it makes me excited as I anticipate the relationship between them that I see blooming even now.  Don’t get me wrong, they are not perfect angels!  They take toys away from each other, crawl over each other, and still get on each others’ nerves.  But, I have also seen glimmers of what their friendship could look like.  They play peek-a-boo in the curtains and Jake makes Cole laugh hysterically.  They can play in the same room without me fearing an epic meltdown from someone (usually Cole) or that someone (also usually Cole) will get hurt.

I thought these pictures summed it up the best.  My prayer for them is truly that they will be “brothers for life” in every sense of the word.  And if, when they are all grown up, they have half the relationship that my sister and I have, my prayers will have been answered:)

IMG_6692

IMG_6699

IMG_6713-1

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Brothers For Life!!…

  1. anna

    April 23, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    awwwww! How cute are they? I am glad that they are starting to interact and play with one another! Sophie and stella really get along well, but Sophie and Livi…..when they were younger they did, but lately they seem to do a lot of fighting. I look forward when to when they go back to getting along!! I love to hear of the friendship you have with your sister! Sister’s and brothers are supposed to be friends for life!

     
  2. Jenny

    April 23, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Too cute!! Love what your sister does with having them say Brothers for Life. That’s something special they will always remember. I love it 🙂

     
  3. Laura Janson

    April 24, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    We have a soft spot for brothers here in our house! Jake and Cole are so lucky to have each other!

     

Leave a Reply

 
