RSS

WDSD: Celebration!!

21 Mar

Today is World Down Syndrome Day (WDSD)!
I am hoping to receive lots of pictures today of socks!  Lots of socks!
And hopefully some beautiful faces of those of you wearing the socks too:)
We are standing together, wearing crazy socks, to create awareness for Down syndrome today.

I will post all the pictures that come in, but for today, I thought I’d join a blog hop hosted by With A Little Moxie, and talk about a Fallacy, Fact, and Photo…pertaining to Jake of course:)  Enjoy!

Fallacy:  “Jake will not experience love”

Okay, so this isn’t a well-known fallacy put forth about individuals with Down syndrome.  It was, however, my overwhelming fear when I first found out about Jake’s diagnosis.  In fact, I remember one of the first thoughts that flitted through my mind in the seconds-that-seemed-to-drag-on-as-hours after learning that my baby boy had Trisomy 21, was “no one will want to come to his birthday party”.
In my state of isolation (a self-induced state, I might add…) during those initial days of shock / grief / disbelief, I questioned whether or not Jake would live his whole life in the same place I was in: feeling isolated, vulnerable, and utterly alone because of the results of a diagnosis.
I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG!


Fact:  Jake is more loved than I ever imagined anyone could be!

Looking back almost two years later, I laugh at the naivety of my initial reaction to Down syndrome.  The fact of the matter is, Jake has experienced more love than I could have ever imagined for anyone.  Please read that last part correctly.  Jake has experienced more love than I could have ever imagined for anyone.  Not for anyone with Down syndrome.  Not for anyone with a disability.  For anyone.  Period.

People are drawn to him.  People smile when they see him.  People reflect the joy that he exudes.  People are uncannily attracted to him.  He lights up people’s faces.  He brings out the best in others.  I know I would be naive to think everyone who ever meets him will react this way.  But those who know him love him instantly.  Without judgment.  Without question.


Photo:  I love this guy!  And also, a collage of just a smattering of the people in our lives who love Jake!

IMG_6638

Recently Updated

Thank you, thank you, thank you to you all for your love and support.  We love you!
Happy World Down Syndrome Day.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “WDSD: Celebration!!

  1. Carrie

    March 21, 2013 at 8:32 am

    love this post 🙂 we have experienced the same thing and it’s pretty wonderful !

     
  2. Meriah

    March 21, 2013 at 9:22 am

    what a cutie!

     
  3. Laura Janson

    March 21, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Happy World Down Syndrome Day!

     
  4. Laurie

    March 21, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    love the pictures and the family and friends who surround your entire family with love – Jake and Cole are two blessed little boys! sorry we have no socks to show off – as in most familes they’re lost in the dryer somewhere…..thanks Karyn for your inspiring posts!

     
  5. auntie eileen

    March 21, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    hi jake……i went to the dr. today……wrapped a very bright pair of knee high socks with toes around my. neck as a scarf tucked in my blouse…dr. asked why i had in on…explained my story to her ….she was very interested………went to Walmart after……got alot of strange looks…..only 1 person asked about my unusual scarf……..cant sent a picture cause i dont know how….anyhow….just to let you know we love you….and it was kind of fun wearing an ugly sock for a scarf…….love you…….auntie eileen xoxoxo

     

Leave a Reply

 
