RSS

Lots of Socks…

14 Mar

World Down Syndrome Day (WDSD) is quickly approaching.

This is a day to celebrate those individuals, such as my son Jake, who were born with an extra chromosome.  It is a day to raise awareness of what life looks like for someone with Down syndrome.

WDSD is on March 21.  This date was chosen with purpose.
Down syndrome is also known as Trisomy 21.  Trisomy 21 is 3 copies of the 21st chromosome.  Hence 3/21 = March 21 = World Down Syndrome Day!

Last year was our first year celebrating WDSD.  I wrote a blog post about it, which you can find here.  We celebrated as a family.  Jake received flowers and a card.  All in all, it was a great day, with a little awareness thrown in.

This year I want to do something more.
This year I desire to create more awareness.
This year I hope to celebrate, both as a family, and as a community together with as many of you as possible:)

I am joining into an idea put forth by the WDSD organization.  The event is called “Lots of Socks“.  They are challenging people to wear socks on March 21.  But not just any socks!  Mismatched socks, crazy socks, socks on your arms, one sock, any sort of sock that will stand out and cause people to ask why you are wearing socks.

Lots of SocksIf you would like to take part, it is easy!

First, you have to WEAR SOCKS!  And the crazier the sock, the better!
Second, I would love it if you could take a picture of your feet with the socks on, and send me the picture!  I think it would be amazing to compile all of the pictures of people’s feet and socks together, and have a collage of all of the people who participated with us in raising awareness of Down syndrome.

There are several ways you can send me the picture:
– Facebook: Post your pic and tag me in it on facebook
– Email: Send your pic my way via email (if you don’t know my email address, send me a comment on the “A Little of This” page and I will send you back my email address)
– Instagram: Post your pic and tag me in it on instagram.  I am @karynmslater
– Twitter: Tweet your pic, and mention me.  Again, I am @karynmslater

There is no pressure to participate at all.  But I am excited to see how many socks we can come up with!
I decided to go all out, and tie dye our socks!  They are setting right now, but here are a couple of “before” pics…stay tuned for the “after” ones!

IMG_6559

IMG_6564

IMG_6567

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Lots of Socks…

Leave a Reply

 
