RSS

12 Would Have a Disability…

11 Mar

My husband teaches “Introduction to Sociology” at a local college.  This past week, he was teaching on Global Stratification, or the inequalities that exist between countries.  I was a guest lecturer in his class that day, so before I got up to speak, I had the opportunity to hear him lecture.

To demonstrate his point during one part of his lecture, he included a video.  The video was a breakdown of what the world would look like if it was represented by 100 people.  It included such things as how ethnicity would be divided between 100 people, how religion would be broken down, how many people would own computers, have access to the internet, be educated, be uneducated, etc…  There was one statistic in particular, however, that really stood out to me:

Out of a global village of 100 people, 12 would have a disability.

That was astounding to me.  12 people out of 100 would have a disability.  Wow.
Now, I will say this: I have no idea what they were classifying as a disability.  I don’t know exactly what the scope looked like of what was included in the number.  But I do know this: 12 is a much higher number than I would have imagined.

“So what?” you may ask.  I don’t know exactly.  But I think that in some small way, seeing that number normalized our experience for me.  Made me realize that we are not so much in the minority as we may often believe ourselves to be.  Brought me closer, on some cosmic level, to others with varying disabilities.  Opened my eyes to the commonality of disability.

It just caused me to look at things differently.  And having a fresh perspective is refreshing.  We are not alone!

And on a completely separate note, to close, a few pictures of my precious little ones.  Cole is starting to really enjoy reading.  And it is so neat to watch them together as they both take in different aspects of reading books together.  Enjoy:)

IMG_6403

IMG_6404

IMG_6418

IMG_6408

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “12 Would Have a Disability…

  1. Dianne

    March 11, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I love reading these thoughts from you, Karyn, and seeing pictures of your boys. Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. anna

    March 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Jake looks like his collarbone is better. Great post!

     
  3. Felicia Cloete

    March 12, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    I didn’t know you were going to be guest lecturing. That is SO cool! I want to hear how it went. You have great stuff to share, I bet it was awesome.

     

Leave a Reply

 
