RSS

Ain’t Nothin’ Gonna Break My Stride…

03 Mar

Thank you so much to all of the people who have shown so much love and support to us in the past few days.  Many people have been asking me how Jake is doing since his trip to the Children’s Hospital and diagnosis of a broken collarbone.  I am pleased to report that he is such a little trooper, and he is doing amazing!

Obviously, he has definitely had some moments.  The first day after his accident was a tough one for both of us.  It was tough for Jake because I’m sure he was still in a lot of pain, and he was not used to doing things with only one hand.  Every time he walked I was nervous, because he kept putting out his arm to break his fall, and then he would cry out in pain.  He would try and play using both arms, reaching out for a toy and then quickly withdrawing his arm with a whimper.  He had very little energy, and was an extremely snuggly little guy who just wanted to be held all day.  It was tough for me because it is so hard to watch your precious little one in pain, and be completely unable to do anything to fix it.

But by day two, he was a pro-star!  He has quickly adapted to only using one arm for everything.  It is shocking to me how quickly he has learned new ways of accomplishing what he wants to, and how little this injury seems to have slowed him down.  I have to say that the words of this song (and the pictures to go with it) sum it up best…

Ain’t nothin’ gonna break my stride…

IMG_6469

Nobody’s gonna slow me down, oh no…

IMG_2172

I got to keep on movin’…

IMG_6472

Ain’t nothin’ gonna break my stride…

IMG_6461

I’m running and I won’t touch ground, oh no…

IMG_2183

I got to keep on movin’…

IMG_6479

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Ain’t Nothin’ Gonna Break My Stride…

  1. Kathy L

    March 3, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    Glad to hear he’s feeling better : )

     
  2. Laurie

    March 4, 2013 at 7:21 am

    made my day Karyn! Thanks! The kid is destined for the hockey rink now 🙂
    Blessings to your bunch of boys!
    Much love from the LeFaves and continued lifting up for healing!

     
  3. Jenny

    March 4, 2013 at 8:01 am

    I some how missed your last post!!! Poor little Jake, that sucks! Glad to hear he is not letting it slow him down any and he is getting around ok, poor little guy.

     
  4. Laura Janson

    March 4, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Poor Jake!!!! What is the recovery time for him?

     
    • karynslater

      March 8, 2013 at 8:23 am

      Hey Laura,
      They said only 1-2 weeks, just depending on when I can feel a callous formed instead of two pieces of bone!! It’s been just over a week now, and I can already tell that he is feeling a lot better; he is trying to use his sling-arm more and more! It is amazing how fast little ones can heal:)

       
  5. anna

    March 4, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    What a cutie! Love the picture of him using the iPhone! I am glad he is managing so well! Go Jake!

     

Leave a Reply

 
