RSS

The Club…and The Collarbone…

28 Feb

The Club…

I belong to a club of sorts.  The T21 club (Trisomy 21).

I did not ask to join.  In fact, I had no desire to become a member.  Since my initiation into this club with the birth of my firstborn son however, I have embraced and accepted my inclusion and participation.  I have found deep comfort, encouragement, and support.  I have allowed its members to embrace me in the midst of my brokenness, and I hope to be able to do the same for others who are continuing to join this club.

The other day, we had the opportunity to meet some new friends!
I have been following the blog of a fellow member of “the club”.  Her name is Anna, and her blog is Rockin An Extra Chromosome.  We have been following each others’ blogs, and when she mentioned in one of her posts that she occasionally makes the trek into Calgary, I got really excited and wanted to meet her!

Her and her husband and their precious little girl Stella came into the city for an appointment the other day, and we had a chance to meet up at the hospital.  It was so great!  Stella is about 8 months older than Jake, and it was such an encouragement to me to see how well she is doing, how fantastic her communication skills are, and how much joy she brings to those who have the privilege of knowing her.  I felt an instant connection with Anna, and feel blessed to be able to share a part of the journey with such an amazing family.  Oh, and I also think that Stella and Jake made a pretty cute couple:)  (Anna and I are matchmaking already!!)

IMG_2140

IMG_2150

IMG_2149

IMG_2142

…and The Collarbone…

Last night, my hubby and I were dropping the kids off at my sister’s house for a night on the town.  While we were there, Jake, in his anxiousness to go play with his cousins, climbed up the stairs (something he is completely capable of doing) without us noticing.  He then proceeded to somehow fall down the stairs (he is also quite capable of going down the stairs, so I’m not exactly sure what happened…) and cry uncontrollably for the next hour.  One trip to the Emergency room later, we have an official diagnosis: Jake broke his collarbone.  Poor little guy:(

Fortunately, he is quite resilient, and although I know he is still in some pain this morning, he has also been his typical self, throwing Cheerios off his high chair, trying to push a laundry basket around the house, and pulling Cole’s hair!   And I will admit, he is pretty adorable in that tiny sling of his…(sorry for the crappy picture quality, they are just off my phone)

IMG_2164

IMG_2159

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The Club…and The Collarbone…

  1. anna

    February 28, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    OMG! Poor lil Jake! What a trouper! I am glad he is ok! I hope he feels better soon! Stella sends him LOTS and LOTS of hugs and kisses and scratches….and face caresses. I am so glad we met and feel a connection to you as well! I look forward to planning Jake and Stella’s wedding! LOL! With our luck they will grow up really disliking one another!

     
  2. Laurie

    March 1, 2013 at 6:09 am

    Good morning Karyn and family – oh dear – life with boys……………………hoping for a speedy recovery for that future football/soccer player son of yours! big hugs to you Karyn, Curtis and Cole and gentle ones for Jakey. Thanks for introducing us to Jake’s new friend Stella! What a doll 🙂
    Love to all from the LeFave family

     
  3. Su-Ann Crawford

    March 1, 2013 at 8:03 am

    Karyn, there is such adorable resemblence with you & Jake in that last pic of him, his face, I can so totally remember a similar expression from you in the dorm!! I love your passion & openness as you travel this journey of life! You are blessed with those babies, and you add perspective and insight that others who don’t walk a similar path, need to hear! I had a brother a long time ago that was mentally challenged, and I loved him more than anything because he needed me in a way that none of the other siblings did. I love your blog, I love hearing your journey, and I LOVE the pics!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
