RSS

Dear Jake…You’re a Walker!!

16 Jan

Dear Jake,

I have never done this before, but I think it’s a good idea.  I would like to start writing you a letter every time something big happens (or maybe even something small) that I don’t want to forget.  Then someday, when you are older, you and I can look back at all the letters I’ve written to you, and we can “watch” you grow up all over again.  So, here is your very first letter.

I am so proud of you for so many things, but this letter in particular is to let you know how proud I am that you are walking!  Yep, you just turned 20 months old yesterday, and you are officially a walker!  Woo hoo Jake, way to go!

Here’s how it happened.  On Christmas Eve, you took your first step.  It was more of a shuffle than a step, but I knew you were trying to move your leg, and we all got so excited for you!  Over the next week or two, you just kept practicing that one first step.  I could tell it was hard for you to keep your balance, but you persevered and kept on trying, even when you fell down a lot.  The funny thing is, you always had to step with your right foot.  For some reason, you felt more hesitant about moving your left foot.  I wasn’t worried though…I knew you would do it when you were ready!  A couple of times you tried to do two steps in a row, but because you would only move your right foot, it kind of looked like you were just trying to go in a circle!

Last week you decided that you were ready for more than one step in a row.  You started with two steps, and you learned to move both feet.  The next day you were at three or four, the day after that you were at five or six, and then you just took off and never looked back!  And today, you are a walking machine!  You are still getting the hang of it, and you still stumble and fall on a regular basis.  But everyday you are getting better and better.

Do you want to know one of my favorite parts about watching you learn how to walk?  It is your determination.  You have mommy’s determination, that’s for sure.  When you are ready, and you put your mind to something, you won’t stop until you get it.  At first, mommy and daddy had to coax you to walk.  Now, you just do it all on your own.  When you fall down, you just get right back up and keep on going.  I love that trait in you.  Never lose your determination Jake, it will take you far.

Sometimes I will offer you my finger, so that you can hold onto me while you walk, and get a bit of a break.  If you are tired, you will take it, and walk holding my hand.  Usually though, it only lasts for a few seconds, until you get your second wind.  Then, like clockwork, you will let go of my finger, as if to say “thanks for the help mommy, but no thanks…watch me, I can do it on my own!”  It is really exciting for me to watch how proud you are of yourself too!

Jake, your daddy and I both love you so much, and we are incredibly excited that you have reached this milestone in your life.  We are savoring the moment (I cried the first time I watched you) because we know that this new skill of yours was well-fought-for and is hard-earned.  I love you little monkey, and I am so proud of you.  Never forget that.

Love, Mommy

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Dear Jake…You’re a Walker!!

  1. Janelle

    January 16, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    How awesome!!!! (tears……)

     
  2. Julie

    January 16, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    Love this!! So special! Love the video! So fun to hang out with you and your kids today, friend.

     
  3. Rita Machnik

    January 17, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Beautifully written Karyn!

     
  4. Kathy L

    January 17, 2013 at 10:29 am

    Love, love, love this!!! Well done Little Man! Look out world, here he comes!

     
  5. Jenny

    January 21, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    Aw, he’s a walker, so exciting! Beautiful letter to your son 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
