RSS

Where Do I Go From Here?…

08 Jan

I sit in front of my computer every day for the past four or five.  I contemplate the screen.  I muse over words on a page.  In a flash of inspiration, I write a paragraph, my fingers clicking away quickly to try and keep up with my jumbled thoughts.  And then, inevitably, I read over what I have just composed, and erase it.

A million thoughts flit through my head.  What are my take-aways, my reflections from 2012?  What does 2013 have in store?  What are my resolutions as I look ahead at the blank canvas that is 2013.  How do I set realistic, reachable goals for myself, for my family?

And then I think about this blog.  What has it been?  What do I want it to become?  For me, the new year is an opportunity to re-examine, to reflect, to take stock.  In thinking about my blog, I find myself frustrated by my lack of answers.  What is my purpose for this blog?  What don’t I want?  What do I want?

I don’t want to be just another blog that people who know me read because they feel like they should, since I’m their friend.  I don’t want to be a “this is what I did today” blog, with some pictures of my kids.  I don’t want to be meaningless, to write just to fill space, to be redundant, to bore.

I want to be meaningful.  I want my words, my life, to resonate with other people.  I want to inform, to challenge people’s perceptions of Down syndrome, and to give others a glimpse of what our life looks like, as we seek to create an epic story.  Ultimately, however, I don’t want to just share information about our life.  I desire to connect with others on their journey in some significant way.  To encourage, to give hope, to be open, real, and vulnerable.

So, join me if you will, as I try to figure out where I go from here…

Looks like Cole is trying to figure out where I go from here too:)

Looks like Cole is trying to figure out where I go from here too:)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Where Do I Go From Here?…

  1. Tara Robertson (@tarasview)

    January 8, 2013 at 8:22 am

    over the 6 years I’ve been blogging my blog has been all sorts of things… all sort of centered around me sharing our story. It has changed a lot over the years though. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself- your story is naturally going to inspire and teach and encourage and educate. 🙂

     
  2. Julie

    January 8, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Well said, Tara! I agree whole-heartedly! Karyn, you write from your heart and your genuine thoughts. I look forward to it because it’s real and it’s you. So keep on keeping on!

     
  3. Laura Janson

    January 9, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    I look forward to reading your blog in 2013! It is one of my favorites!

     

Leave a Reply

 
