RSS

He IS His Mother’s Child…

06 Dec

He is his mother’s child…because he loves books.

I am somewhat of an avid reader, and have been for as long as I can remember.  My mom once told me that I was reading when I was four.  I used to listen to my mom with rapt attention as she went through each story over and over and over again, until I had them memorized and could “read” along with her.  When I actually learned how to read, I would follow along with her, correcting every mistake or missed word.  I love books.  They have the power to transport you to magical places.  They hold the promise of adventure, excitement, enchantment, and awe.  They allow your imagination to warp into hyper drive.

Tonight I was sitting in the rocking chair in Jake’s room.  I was holding Cole on my lap, and my husband was getting Jake ready for bed, sitting with Jake on the floor as he prodded him into his pj’s.  Right beside the rocking chair is a bookshelf with Jake’s collection of books on it.

“Jake, do you want to read a book?” I asked, signing the word for “book” at the same time.  He looked up at me.  For the sake of repetition, which is always helpful for our little ones, I inquired again, “Jake, do you want to read a book?”.

And then the most amazing chain of events occurred.  First, Jake looked at the bookshelf, as if to acknowledge it as home to the books with which I had just piqued his interest.  Second, Jake signed the word for “book” back to me!  At least, that’s what it looked like he was doing.  He is typically hit-and-miss with signs, and rarely does them.  But I swear, with my husband as a witness, that it really looked like he was trying to sign “book” to me!

After yelling and shouting with excitement (and scaring Cole, who was still sitting peacefully on my lap!) I acknowledged what a great job my son had done in the communication department.  “You said book!  You want to read a book!”.  I then proceeded to push my luck.  “Jake”, I exclaimed, “go and pick out a book”.  Pointing towards the bookshelf, I urged my son to exercise his right to choose.  And lo and behold, he crawled over to the bookshelf and pulled out a book, looking up expectantly at me as if to say “okay mom, this is the one I want!”.

I cannot even begin to describe how over-the-top, stand-on-your-head, jump-up-and-down, scream-and-yell-for-joy excited I was tonight!  He heard, he understood, he communicated, and he followed instructions.  And he loves books.  My heart is happy.

Some great pics to leave you with for tonight…

IMG_5645

IMG_1935

IMG_1924

IMG_1919

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “He IS His Mother’s Child…

  1. Keith a.k.a "Dad"

    December 6, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Karyn, that is sooooo awesome…. Love you lots!!

     
  2. Catherine Craven

    December 6, 2012 at 11:01 am

    this post made my heart smile! So cool!

     
  3. Maureen Slater

    December 6, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    You made our hearts “happy” too! Way to go Jake! We love you so much!!
    gramma and grampa xxxooo
    PS Cute, cute pictures! Loved the ones of Cole and Jake sitting in the bowls!
    xoxo

     
  4. Laura

    December 8, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Ben is a big reader too! Love that picture of your boys in the bowls:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
