RSS

Tired…But Happy…

08 Nov

I am tired…but happy.

Every November, my sister and brother-in-law go away for a few days, as part of my brother-in-law’s job.
And every November, I (along with my mom and my husband!) watch my sister’s 5 kids while they are gone.
So, for the last four days, we have been living at my sister’s house, and looking after 7 kids!
It was crazy, and awesome, and chaotic, and so much fun!

I love my nephews to death, and had such a great time with them.  And every time they randomly told me they loved me, crawled into my lap, held my hand, or kissed me goodnight, I melted.

Jake loves his cousins too.  This week I noticed a few “firsts” for Jake ~ definitely the result of being challenged to keep up with the boys!  He learned how to use his teeth to bite chunks of food.  He learned how to climb stairs.  He became a professional walking-behind-a-toy-car walker.  He perfected the art of standing.

They say that babies typically learn one skill at a time.  For example, if they are working hard on some sort of gross motor skill, like crawling or walking, they don’t generally produce much in the way of communication or speech.  I have definitely found this to be true with Jake.  He is working overtime in the gross motor skills department.  Between learning how to stand, starting to walk with help, and beginning to climb, his little body is busy…and exhausted!

I haven’t, however, seen much improvement in the communication department.  He still doesn’t sign to me, although I know he understands the ones I use with him.  He still doesn’t say any words.  Heck, he still doesn’t say a lot of sounds, like “ma, pa, s, th, or f”.  I could get frustrated with this.  Sometimes I do.  But I need to keep reminding myself that he is learning like crazy in the gross motor skills department, and can’t handle anything else right now.  So I celebrate the milestones he is meeting, and wait patiently for the next phase to begin.

With all this learning that Jake is doing, he is also tired…but happy.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Tired…But Happy…

  1. Julie

    November 8, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Yeah Jake!! Way to move the obstacles! haha! Hope you get some downtime this weekend, friend! ❤

     
  2. Kathy L

    November 9, 2012 at 7:58 am

    Well done Jake!! And you too Karyn…. 7 kids might make me run and hide : ) So excited for Jake and his new skills… keep rockin’ it Dude!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
