RSS

See the Ability…

03 Nov

Those of you who follow my blog will know this already, but for those who are new, I just finished participating in the “31 for 21 Challenge“…to blog every day for the month of October to promote Down Syndrome Awareness Month.

But…technically, in CANADA, we promote awareness of Down syndrome at a different time!

November 1-7 is National Down Syndrome Awareness Week in Canada.  And since I live in Canada, and am Canadian, and am proud to be from Canada, I wanted to make sure that I mentioned this week in my blog!

I saw a video recently that I thought was very inspiring.  It moved me deeply.  It infused me with hope that Jake will develop deep friendships.  It allowed me to envision the day when the people who interact with Jake will see the ability, not the disability.  See the ability is the slogan for Canada’s Down syndrome awareness campaign, and it resonates deeply with me.  Please, please, if you can, watch the video.  Be inspired.  Share it with others.  Help raise awareness.  Partner with me in doing what we can to make the world ready to receive Jake with the dignity, grace, and respect that he deserves.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “See the Ability…

  1. Merissa

    November 3, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Amazing!

     
  2. Julie

    November 4, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    So good, Karyn. Thanks for sharing. This moved me too – helps me understand your hopes for your son and makes me aware of how much I want to be a voice in Jake’s life as he grows up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
