RSS

Day 30 of 31 ~ 21 Reflections ~

30 Oct

Since tomorrow is Halloween and I want to post pictures of Jake’s first real Halloween experience, I thought it would be fitting that today I take time to reflect on the “31 for 21 Challenge”.  So, here are my 21 reflections, in completely random order:

1.  I really enjoy blogging.  Most days (except when I’m exhausted because my 3-month old is not sleeping) I look forward to the end of the day, to sitting down with a cup of jasmine tea, and to processing my thoughts.

2.  Blogging is hard work!

3.  This month has made me more intentional about taking pictures of my children.  I am grateful.

4.  I am excited for what the future holds.  I already see huge strides in how far Jake has come since the beginning of October.  I can hardly wait until next October, when I look back on my “31 for 21 Challenge” from this year, and can again be reminded of how far we’ve come!

5.  This has been a very cathartic experience for me.

6.  I have been challenged (by myself) to become a better writer.  I want to try and figure out next steps as to how to make that happen.

7.  I love taking pictures of my kids!  And I love sharing those pictures here.

8.  The support and encouragement that I have received as a result of writing this blog has been astounding.  Thank you.  It means the world.

9.  I have caught a glimpse of an e-community.  The blogs that I have been exposed to this month are fantastic.  I would love to be able to meet some of these wonderful people someday, and share our stories face-to-face.

10.  Pursuing photography is now on the radar.  Not to say that I want to become a professional photographer, but I’d like to get better at it.

11.  I have an amazing husband!  When I decided that I was going to do the “31 for 21 Challenge”, I had no idea how much time it would involve.  Curtis has graciously and unequivocally supported me and sacrificed time with me this month.  Thank you Curtis.  I love you.

12.  I can grow thick skin.  I have come to recognize that not everyone will agree with what I write, or hold the same opinion as I do.  I can deal.  I think I am even learning to accept criticism, as I begin to become secure in my own thoughts and opinions.

13.  The possibilities for Jake are endless!  Maybe they will look different, but his future is bright, and full of hope.  This is encouraging.

14.  I am not alone.

15.  I am going to blog on a more regular basis than I did before doing this challenge.  It’s good for me.  And if you are still reading this post, you must enjoy it too!  (or you just really like me and want to support me…either way, thank you!)

16.  Cole (my typical child) does not get a lot of press.  I think I’d like that to change.

17.  I have been successful in reaching my goals.  I have given you a glimpse into our lives – the exciting, the mundane, the routine, the therapies, the people, and everything in between.  And I have been real.  Mission accomplished.

18.  I have had to do some self-examination and self-reflection to write this blog.  It was needed.

19.  I would love your feedback.  What would you like to see more / less of on my blog?  What are your questions?  What are your suggestions?  What are your comments?  I welcome them!

20.  I have had a few people email or facebook me specifically to tell me that what I am posting has helped them be more aware of Down syndrome.  I think this is a huge win.

21.  I love my family!  I love Jake. So. Freaking. Much.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Day 30 of 31 ~ 21 Reflections ~

  1. Jenny

    October 31, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your posts this month, and was happy to read you plan on blogging more often 🙂

     
  2. Michelle

    November 1, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Thank you for participating in the challenge; and what a great list to recap the month!

     

Leave a Reply

 
