RSS

Day 28 of 31 ~ I Am Not Superwoman ~

29 Oct

I am not superwoman.  I don’t have superpowers.  I am not invincible.
Oftentimes I am reminded of this…

…Like when I try and take on way too much at a time.  I try and be everything to everybody.  I try and be the quintessential hostess, wife, and mother, all at the same time.  In those moments, I remember that I am not superwoman.

…Like when I wake up in the morning (this morning was case-in-point) and I am still exhausted, because my 3-month old was up at 12:30pm, 1:30am, 4:30am, 5:30am, and 7:00am.  In those moments, I remember that I am not superwoman.

…Like when I listen to people tell stories of when they were kids and the kid in their school who had Down syndrome was picked on.  And then I bawl like a baby, holding my little miracle (who happens to have Down syndrome), as I realize that I will never be able to protect him from everything.  I will not be able to shelter him forever.  I will have to equip him to occasionally be slapped in the face by a cruel world.  In those moments, I remember that I am not superwoman.

But you know what?  Sometimes I do feel like superwoman…

…Like when Jake hurts himself, starts crying hysterically, and immediately turns to me for comfort.  And as soon as I pick him up and hug him tightly, his crying subsides and the pain is gone.  In that moment, to my son, I am superwoman.

…Like at the end of each day, when Jake is really tired and often grumpy, and I get him ready for bed, give him a bottle, and sing to him as I rock him back and forth.  And he falls asleep on my shoulder, his little tiny hand grasping onto my hair as he drifts off.  In that moment, to my son, I am superwoman.

…Like when Jake is feeling sick, and is a little more clingy than usual.  And I read him stories, stroke his hair, hug him tightly, and shower my love, attention, and affection on him a little more than usual.  In that moment, to my son, I am superwoman.

So I’m not superwoman.  Big deal.  In the eyes of my baby boy, I am.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Day 28 of 31 ~ I Am Not Superwoman ~

  1. Kathy L

    October 29, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Karyn, you are an amazing woman, wife, mother, sister, aunty and friend….. in short you are a super woman!!!

     
  2. Catherine Craven

    October 30, 2012 at 10:39 am

    I knew a lady who lived without electricity, regularly got up at 3am, faced a bull on the way to the bus (no joke), regularly kicked cows out of her yard with a stick, helped catch (and set free) a HUGE lizard, and worked in a completely different language… her name was Karyn. Sounds like a superwoman to me 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
