RSS

Day 26 of 31 ~ Sleep Baby Sleep ~

27 Oct

It’s just after midnight.
I am in my room, on the computer.

From the other room, I can hear Jake.
My baby boy is restless.  He is not feeling well today.  He keeps waking himself up coughing, and then he babbles to himself for a few minutes before he finally falls back into a fitful sleep.
I wish I could take the fitfulness away, and replace it with peacefulness.  I wish I could fix it.

When Jake was born, my best friend Sarah wrote him a lullaby.  I cried the first time she sang it to him.  It goes like this:

Jake’s Lullaby:

Quiet sweet child, the day is now done
And I will lay you down, say farewell to the sun
It’s time to rest, take refuge in the night
Close your eyes like a curtain, awake to the light

I’ll place my touch upon your precious face
And I’ll whisper to you prayers of strength and of grace

All you need to know for now is that you are safe from harm
All you need to know for now is that you are in my arms

Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Through the night

So dream now, sweet baby, beautiful things
Like of colors, and warmth, and the songs your heart sings
And oh, as the days go by, I hope you know
That you’re covered in love, in this love you will grow

All you need to know for now is that you are safe from harm
All you need to know for now is that you are in my arms

Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Through the night

~ Sarah Kemmers, from “The Northwood Sessions” ~

Sarah put out a CD at the beginning of the year, and Jake’s lullaby is on it.  And incidentally, she asked if Curtis and I would sing harmonies for his song, so we got the privilege of recording with Sarah, and being able to be a part of Jake’s lullaby.  It was such a cool experience!

I really wanted to figure out how to put the song right on my blog, but I couldn’t figure it out.
You can look her up on iTunes though, by following this link.  You can preview Jake’s lullaby there.  It is awesome:)

As I lay here, listening to my sweet child and wishing I could ease his discomfort, this song sums it up best.

Won’t you sleep, baby, sleep
Through the night.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Day 26 of 31 ~ Sleep Baby Sleep ~

  1. Kathy L

    October 29, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Hope your little man is feeling better…. Sarah – beautiful lyrics….

     

Leave a Reply

 
