RSS

Day 21 of 31 ~ A Little “Me Time” ~

22 Oct

I would sacrifice anything and everything for my family.

But I am also learning that a little “me time” is actually a good thing; and the furthest thing from selfish.

This morning I played the piano for a music team at our local church (North Point Community Church).  I had to be there early to do all of the set-up, so I left my husband Curtis at home, charged with getting the kids ready and out the door on time!  And to his credit, they were not only there on time, but the boys were dressed in the CUTEST outfits ever! (I was super choked that I forgot to take pictures…)

I have also rejoined a soccer league after a two year hiatus to have kids.  Our first game of the season was tonight, so once again, I got all bundled up in my soccer gear and sweats, and left Curtis at home to deal with bedtime.  And I came back to a sleeping Jake, a hungry Cole, and a clean house.  My husband is amazing.

Today was good.  It was healthy.  It was needed.  It was a great outlet for me.  Everyone, whether parenting a child with special needs or not, needs a little “me time”.  It restores clarity, sanity, and balance to life.  It is rejuvenating and refreshing.  It is not something to feel guilty about.  It makes us better at what we do.  Ironic as it sounds, taking time away from my kids actually makes me a better mother.

What “you time” have you taken recently?

Here are a couple of randoms from the last couple of days.  And I’m off to bed.  Enjoy:)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Day 21 of 31 ~ A Little “Me Time” ~

  1. Janelle

    October 22, 2012 at 6:34 am

    Good Morning, Karyn! I am glad you have clued in to this nugget of wisdom so early! When my kids were younger, a wise friend of mine would remind me on a regular basis…”DSFJT” Do Something For Janelle Today. I would remind her of the same. All Mom’s, all women NEED this….even if it is read one chapter in a book, clean a bathroom sink that is bothering you, tweeze your eyebrows, playing piano or soccer…..it has NOTHING to do with having a ‘special’ child…it has EVERYTHING to do with being a good Mom! No guilty feelings!!

     
  2. Breanne

    October 22, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks for the reminder Karyn! I’m a 5 month new mom too, and I also have a ‘wise woman’ whom reminds me to take time for myself everyday. (thanks Mom!!)

     
  3. Tez

    October 29, 2012 at 11:44 am

    what a beautiful riot of hair your boys have! I’m really loving your month of posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
