RSS

Day 12 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

13 Oct

Yesterday it was snowing and freezing cold outside.  This afternoon it warmed up again, all the snow melted, and Jake and I were outside taking advantage of one of the last few opportunities to enjoy the beautiful fall weather.  As you can tell, Jake really enjoys the swings at the park across the street from our house:)

This morning I had the opportunity to reflect a little on my journey of motherhood so far.
I was asked to share my story at a brunch for new mothers that a local church was hosting.

I know I allude to my faith a lot on this blog, but as I was mulling over what I wanted to say to these women and how I wanted to present my story, I was reminded of some of the bigger truths in my life that I may not focus on daily.  I was reminded that I have chosen to view God not as someone who should take away my pain and suffering, but rather as someone who is present in the midst of it.

It was a wonderful day of reflection.  It was a little glimmer of how far we have come since the first days in the hospital, Jake hooked up to tubes and monitors of all kinds, and geneticists telling us they were testing our precious little miracle for Trisomy 21.  It was a welcome reminder that God truly is in the midst of our “epic story”, on the great days, the horrible days, and the mundane days.

I don’t think I said anything profound or life changing.  But I felt as though reflecting on where we’ve come from was a perspective-shifting experience for me.  So, all in all, I was thankful for the opportunity to reflect and share.

I have received a couple of questions for the possible Q&A blogs to come…thanks so much for commenting!  And please, if you didn’t read yesterday’s blog (which I posted today) I’m looking for questions that you have for me, that I could attempt to answer in this forum.  So please, please, PLEASE shoot me some questions!


I joined a “Blog Hop” that is being hosted this weekend, but wordpress won’t let me post it on my site.  A blog hop is basically an easy way to get from blog to blog and check out some other people’s blogs.  If you are interested, you can get to it by clicking here.

That’s all for now!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Day 12 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

  1. Laurie

    October 13, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    And so Karyn as I read your latest entry in your daily reflections (which I am absolutely loving BTW!), I am struck by the fact that you , the young woman with the pastoral heart for our youth over the years, has merely shifted the focus of that loving and Spirit-filled heart! The men in your life – “both little” and big are truly blessed to have you!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
