RSS

Day 11 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

12 Oct

This post is owing from yesterday, which would be Thursday, October 11.  Yesterday was a crazy day, which is funny, because we didn’t even leave the house until 4:15pm!  But I had a lot on my plate, and consequently, my blogging got put on the back burner.  But here it is…only a few hours late!

Jake’s new favorite place to be is the bathroom.  I am working hard at remembering to close the lid for the toilet, but unfortunately, there have been far too many instances over the past few days of Jake and his toys splashing around in the toilet water:).  And these pictures are from his newest find…the toilet paper roll!

The funny thing is that to me, this is awesome.  Because Jake took so long to develop this curiosity, this adventurous spirit, this desire to figure out how things work, I am really enjoying this phase.  Even if it does mean lots of extra baths to wash off all the disgusting toilet water germs:)

Questions & Answers (aka Q&A)…

One of the things that Curtis and I have said over and over again since we had Jake is that we love it when people ask us questions.  I sometimes feel like I don’t want to continually be spewing out information about Down syndrome, milestones, physical development, etc… but at the same time, I feel like I do want to spew it out, so that people can understand my son better.  I could talk about Jake all day long…but I also want to respect that not everyone may know / care as much as I do!

Having said that, I would like to throw out a suggestion…if people have questions, would we be able to do a bit of a Q&A?  I’d love to take some questions from people and be able to answer them (or attempt to answer them!) on my blog over the next little while.  I won’t lie, I have seen a couple of other blogs this month in the “31 for 21” challenge that have done this, and I’ve been really encouraged by it!  So, I am ripping off their idea, but thought I’d give it a shot.

A few provisos:
1.  I don’t pretend to have all the answers!  But if I don’t know something, I’ll do my best to find out.
2.  I’m not an expert by any stretch.  I’ve only been at this thing for 17 months.  I still have a lot to learn.
3.  This won’t work unless you ask questions!!  So please, please ask!

There are a couple of ways to leave a question.  First, you can leave a comment!  Second, if you want to ask something anonymously, you can leave a comment as “anonymous”.  Third, if you don’t want anyone else to see your question, you can go to my “Resources” page (please don’t judge that it’s out of date…I know I need to update it!) and whatever you type in the text box will be sent to me in an email, and will not appear anywhere on my blog.

So, please don’t leave me hanging!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Day 11 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

  1. Catherine Craven

    October 12, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    It’s been 17 months already! Wow, time flies!
    Anyhow… questions…Okay, I will get the ball rolling with a question (and here is my disclaimer- this might be a totally dumb/naive question, but I really don’t know)- do kids/people with Down Syndrome vary in their differences? (i.e., does one child with Down Syndrome have the same genetic ‘extras’ and developmental differences as another child with the syndrome, or is it highly varied?) Okay, I know that all kids are unique and develop differently, whether they have an extra chromosome or not, but is there a lot of variation within kids who have Down Syndrome?

     
  2. Mandi

    October 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Question #1: why is Jakers so freakin cute?!?
    Question #2: why is Jake so stinkin hilarious?

    Sorry I don’t have any serious questions, I’m just always wondering at those ones. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
