RSS

Day 7 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

08 Oct

This weekend is Canadian Thanksgiving, and we are celebrating the holiday in style!

Today we were with my husband’s side of the family.  Jake has two cousins on this side, and the youngest (and only girl out of all of his cousins!) is only a few months younger than Jake.  They are becoming good buddies…the two of them were definitely up to no good today, crawling around together, pulling each others hair, and “talking” to each other in their cute little baby talk!

We had a great time, an amazing meal, and wonderful hospitality.  And the most exciting part of the day for Jake was definitely the opportunity to go in the bouncy castle that his Gramma and Poppa keep at their house for occasions such as this!

Jake with Gramma! (posing for the camera, as usual!)

Cole with Poppa, passed out after a long day!

Since we are celebrating Thanksgiving, I have been pondering the theme of thankfulness.  And the question that keeps coming back to me is this:  Am I thankful that Jake has Down syndrome?

I honestly don’t know how to answer that question.  Here’s what I do know how to answer:

I am thankful for Jake.  I am thankful for his personality, for his individuality, for what makes him unique.
I am thankful for those that love Jake and stand by him.
I am thankful for the way that Jake’s life has influenced so many people already.  Has brought people together.  Has worked in healing ways.  Has been a force for good.

I am thankful for the supports and resources that are available for Jake here.  For Early Intervention programs that are giving Jake a great start to his journey.  For a government that recognizes and *tries to* support people with disabilities (I didn’t say it was a perfect system, but I am thankful that there is a system at all).
I am thankful for the people I have met in the Ds community, both those who work with Jake, as well as other parents I’ve had the opportunity to connect with because they also have little ones with Ds.

I am thankful for my faith, and for how it has not been shaken (and I would go so far as to say has been strengthened) because of a diagnosis of Down syndrome.
I am thankful for my faith community.

Am I thankful that Jake has Down syndrome?  Honestly, I think I would have to say no.  But, would I change it if I could?  I used to think that my immediate response would be “heck yeah”.  But now, I think I would not.  So, even if I’m not thankful for the actual fact, I have learned to be thankful in the midst of it.  And that is good enough for me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Day 7 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

  1. Kathy L

    October 10, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Honesty of heart again…. what an amazing outlook you have chosen Karyn!

     

Leave a Reply

 
