RSS

Day 4 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

05 Oct

I am barely sneaking this post in on Day 4, since today was a busy day:)

On Thursdays we try and attend a play group for parents and kids, hosted by one of the wonderful ladies from our church (North Point Community Church).  It is a great time for Jake to interact with lots of kids, as well as a great time for this momma to be able to relax and enjoy community with some amazing women.  My sister and her youngest three kids (yep, you read that correctly…her youngest three…she has five beautiful boys all together!) attend, and Jake absolutely loves his cousins!  Here he is, playing with the youngest cousin of the five boys, Micah.  Jake and Micah are great buddies:)

Here is my moment of honesty and “realness” for today’s blog post: I am still sometimes wary of this group.  I love the amazing women that I am meeting, and I love the community that I am experiencing as I get to know each one a little more every week.  And I honestly do believe that all of these women love and accept Jake as the unique individual that he is, and do not see him as anything else.  But there are still times where I find myself wondering…what are they thinking?  Do they wonder why he is almost 17 months old and not walking?  Do they wonder why I get so over-the-top excited when he stands and holds his balance for a few seconds?  Do they see the abundance of potential that I see in him?  Do they look past his disability and see Jake?

At the end of the day, I know that a lot of those questions and fears are irrational.  I know that we have an amazing group of family, friends, and community around us.  I know that we are loved and supported.  I feel that daily.  But still, I wonder.  Still, I worry…

On a totally different note…

As a follow-up to yesterday’s thoughts on the “R-word”, I just wanted to make a couple of comments.

First of all, thank you so much to those of you who left comments, sent tweets, and wrote me private messages regarding this topic.  I want to reiterate that it was not my intention to make anyone feel guilty.  I have, however, felt incredibly supported and valued by you.  Thank you for standing with me and my family in abolishing this word from our vocabularies.

Secondly, thank you to those who cited further resources for me about this topic.  I found this website really great in terms of adding substance to my thoughts: http://www.r-word.org (R-Word: Spread the Word to End the Word).  I pledged on their website to support the elimination of the use of this word, and to promote the acceptance and inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities.  Will you join me?

Well, my eyelids are closing…
Goodnight all.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Day 4 of 31 ~ A Day in the Life ~

  1. Kathy L

    October 5, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Oh Karyn, again you are so real. Thank you. I have often wondered what others think of my own kids and the delays that they deal with, their quirks, their “chewies”, their sensitivity…. while our journeys are similar and yet very different I can relate in a small way….. I am thankful that you feel supported by those around you and that you know you are loved.

     

Leave a Reply

 
