RSS

31 for 21…

01 Oct

October is Down Syndrome Awareness Month.

At least, in the United States it is.  In Canada, November 1-7 is National Down Syndrome Awareness Week (Canadian Down Syndrome Society).  But…I like the idea of having a whole month to raise awareness, so I am joining my south-of-the-border counterparts and taking part in something called “31 for 21”.

There are 31 days in October.
The medical term for Down syndrome is Trisomy 21 (T21), because individuals with Down syndrome have an extra 21st chromosome.
So, for 31 days, the challenge is to blog every day, in order to raise awareness for T21.

I thought a lot about my goal for these next 31 days.  I read other people’s goals and intentions, outlined in carefully crafted plans, seamless ideas, and well thought-out themes.  Evidently, I have much to learn from my counterparts in the blogging world (heck, I hardly knew how to “grab” the 31 for 21 button!), as I could not narrow down my goal to be as eloquent or perfected as the others I’ve seen.

After careful consideration, though, I have decided on a goal.  It is twofold.

First of all, I want to be as REAL as possible.  And to do this in a way that could relate to Down syndrome, but doesn’t necessarily have to.  After all, on a day-to-day basis, I don’t feel as though Down syndrome has a huge effect on me.  On my children.  On my family.

Second of all, to do this through glimpses into our lives.  I will call it “a day in the life“.  Hopefully those of you who actually follow me for the next month will get a glimpse into how Down syndrome affects our day-to-day lives.  Or doesn’t.  Depending on the day, it’s a little of both!

So, my plan is to be REAL, by allowing you to experience life with me for the next month!  Real in the joys and struggles of raising children, one of whom happens to be blessed with an extra chromosome.  Real in the things I’ve learned about Down syndrome that I wish other people knew too, but don’t always know how to tell them without sounding rude or obnoxious. Real in my hopes and dreams for myself, for my children, for my family.

If I can accomplish this, I will have considered my “31 for 21” challenge a success.  Join me if you can!  And if you can share my blog with others, for the purpose of raising more awareness, that would be fantastic!  Let’s do it…31 for 21!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “31 for 21…

  1. Merissa

    October 1, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I am looking forward to this, friend!!

     
  2. Laura

    October 1, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    Yay! We get to see Jake every day this month! Happy Down Syndrome Awareness Month!

     
  3. Virginia

    October 2, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    I am so excited to share this month with you on here! I love your posts, your pictures, your adventures………I love it that you are real!! Thank you for sharing your lives with your readers!

     
  4. Kathy L

    October 5, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    What Merissa said… ditto!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
