RSS

The New Norm…

17 Aug

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, so I wanted to post a few pictures of “the new norm” for us as a family of four!

The first couple of weeks were hard to get used to having two kids.  I remember saying to myself (and my husband!) multiple times, “how on earth am I going to look after two babies all day by myself?!”  But you know what?  It gets easier!  It becomes the new norm.  And I’m pleased to say that we’re doing quite well!  I think that come September, when all the early intervention stuff and therapies and appointments start up again, I will be able to handle it with the two of them.  And in the meantime, we’ve actually still been able to do some fun stuff this summer, like the water park, the park, lots of walks, and lots of time with friends and family.

Jake and Cole are so different!  Some of the differences I do end up chalking up to Jake having Down syndrome and Cole being “typical”.  Stuff like how strong Cole is already, how well he holds his head up, and how much better of a latch he has than Jake did, because of increased muscle tone.  But more importantly (in my mind) are the differences I see that are strictly due to personality, and to each kid being unique and different.  Jake is the easiest kid ever.  Cole = not so much!  Jake hardly ever cried.  Cole = cries a lot:)  Jake seems happy-go-lucky.  Cole seems like he will be a serious kid.  I could keep going, but the point is that I am so incredibly happy that I can see that at the end of the day, Jake and Cole are more different because of their personalities than their diagnosis’.

Cole, the serious one:)

Jake, the happy-go-lucky one:)

So far, the new norm is pretty awesome:)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “The New Norm…

  1. Rachelle

    August 17, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Oh my gosh! Your kids are adorable. I love Cole’s spiky hair and I adore Jake’s smile – I have no option but to smile too. It’s infectious! And I love that you can see their personalities coming out more and more. You’re an awesome mom!

     
  2. Jake & Cole's favorite auntie :)

    August 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    hahah oooooo my word!! I love Jakey’s smile in the last one! It’s like he’s already ready to take awkward school photos!! I think I’ve taught my nephew well 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
