RSS

A New Look…

10 Apr

It’s official…Jake has a new look!

We had our appointment with one of the Audiologists at the Children’s Hospital yesterday, and she gave us the “Baha softband”…the hearing device that Jake will use until his ears are big enough to have hearing aids (which should be in a couple of months, although we will see how things progress).

It’s basically a velcro strap that does up around Jake’s head.  It has a piece that you can snap the actual hearing device onto, and then that part (the black part in the pictures) can sit anywhere on his head that is against the bone.  It is actually really cool…I plugged my ears and stuck it on my bone yesterday, and I could completely hear what my husband was saying to me!  It was as clear as if I was listening through my ears, but the sound vibrations were coming directly through my skull bone and into my inner ear!

When I first put it on Jake at the hospital yesterday, his eyes went so wide, and he just kind of looked around like he didn’t even know what to think!  Last night he kept being scared by all the noises around him (me sneezing, getting pots and pans out of the drawer, his own voice, etc…!) but today he seems to have calmed down a little, and it is AMAZING what a difference you can tell that it is making!  And while it is VERY HARD to keep on his head, since he rolls around so much, the good news is that he doesn’t seem bothered by it at all…he hasn’t tried to pull it off or anything!

If I am being completely honest, it is harder for me than it is for him!  There is obviously the mothering instinct in me that wants to protect him as much as possible from the world around him, and I know that wearing a headband is just another visible sign of difference.  But, at the end of the day, my eyes welled up with tears of joy when I saw him hear properly for the first time in his little life!  So, the benefits definitely outweigh the fear!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “A New Look…

  1. Jen Cook

    April 10, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Oh Karyn & Curt,

    I was so happy- so happy- to read your good news. Your little lamb is such an angel and it is amazing to learn how God is answering so many prayers. How thrilling that Jake can hear his Mommy and Daddy’s voices so clearly. Yippee! ; ) What a letter of hope you’ve shared. Thank you!

    Jen Cook XOXOXOXOXO

     
  2. Kathy Laycock

    April 10, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    I’d have to say he’s ROCKIN’ the headband!! So thankful for the advances in technology that are allowing him to hear!!!

     
  3. Laura

    April 10, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I loved reading how Jake heard the world so clearly fof the first time! I think he looks really cute in the head band!

     
  4. Jenny

    April 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    He’s getting so big, he looks great!! Such a wonderful thing for him to be able to hear clearly! And you are so right, the benefits definitely outweigh the fear 🙂

     
  5. Merissa

    April 11, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Just love this. Love you guys.

     
  6. Pauline Wagenaar

    April 11, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    hi Karyn and Curt,
    This is SO amazing. Isn’t it wonderful what they can do. Can you imagine him being in his own little world forever. God has given him hearing 🙂 Pretty soon he’ll have little tiny things in his ears and the visible band will be gone 🙂 He’s SO adorable, SO cute! It’s fun to hear his reactions to hearing for the first time…..most of us miss that with our babies. I admire both of you very much and love hearing grandma brag and show us pics 🙂
    Love you guys, Mrs. Wagenaar

     

Leave a Reply

 
