RSS

Two Thumbs Up…!

04 Mar

One Thumb Up…

…for Jake!  He is doing awesome these days!  I do get discouraged sometimes, as I wish that his physical development was happening at a faster rate.  I really do understand.  I understand that my precious kid will typically take longer to learn new skills.  I understand that he has lower muscle tone.  I also understand that Jake was born 6 weeks early, and so while he is technically 9 1/2 months old, he should be functioning as though he were 8 months old.  I really do keep all of these things in mind.  But still…some days are harder than others.

Overall, I can’t complain though.  I have found great support in the PT (Physical Therapist) at the Children’s Hospital.  We went to see her the other day, and she gave us a bunch of exercises to do with Jake, to get him sitting, and also to strengthen his little arms, so that he can push himself up and learn (eventually) how to crawl.  And although it’s only been three or four days, I feel like I notice an improvement.

Other things worthy of “thumbs up”:
– Jake is learning to pick up food and get it in his mouth!  It’s pretty funny!  And super cute!
– He is also learning to eat more textured foods, and more chunks of food, which is a great milestone.
– He is WAY MORE INTERACTIVE than even a few weeks ago.  Laughing, smiling, more eye contact, beginning to imitate sounds…and I truly feel like his social skills are climbing through the roof these days!
– He LOVES standing!  I know, he needs to learn sitting first, and build those core muscles, but look what an adorable stander he is!!

The Other Thumb Up…

…for baby boy #2!  Well, actually, I don’t need to put my thumb up for him…he apparently did it all by himself at our ultrasound last week!  Yep, that’s right.  The next chapter of our “epic story” is beginning.  We are almost 20 weeks pregnant with our second little miracle, and it turns out, we are expecting another boy!

I am SO EXCITED for Jake to have a little brother!  I look at my sister’s kids (she has five boys!) and they are such advocates for each other.  They truly are each others’ best friends, and I am super excited for Jake to be able to have that with a brother!  I think they will challenge each other, push each other, and love each other to death, and I could not be more excited about this next stage in our epic story!

Stay tuned for thoughts about March 21, which is World Down Syndrome Day!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Two Thumbs Up…!

  1. Dianne

    March 5, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Wow. That is really special. Thanks for the update.

     
  2. Laura

    March 5, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Congratulations on baby #2!!!!! And way to go Jake on all your milestones! Love this post!

     
  3. Merissa

    March 5, 2012 at 11:12 am

    oh my word i love the U.S. pictures!! that is such an awesome gift to see that little thumb go up!!
    love you guys.

     
  4. Laurie

    March 5, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Karyn and Curtis – this is awesome news! So encouraged with Jake’s progress AND so thrilled for you and the coming new addition. Hugs to all the Slaters and a special shout out to the Hill grandparents!
    Love to all
    Jon and Laurie in Newmarket

     
  5. Maureen Slater

    March 5, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Karyn,
    I “love” reading your blog and so appreciate your honesty. I consider it a huge priveledge to be able to get a glimpse into that “mothers” heart of yours, and feel like I am getting to know you more and more with each posting. You are an awesome mother Karyn and an amazing person. I am so thankful that you are a part of our family. We love Jake so much, and are so grateful that we get to be a part of his life.
    Love you lots,
    “Ma” Slater
    xxxooo

     

Leave a Reply

 
