RSS

Back to life, Back to reality…

03 Jan

Christmas was awesome!  How could it not be, with such a sweet little guy?! We had a great first Christmas together, and we feel pretty blessed by our little family (and by our big families…we both have amazing families and it was great to spend time with them this holiday season).


For Christmas, one of Jake’s presents was this little aquarium-type thing that you put in the crib.  When you press the button it plays a classical music song, and lights come on, and the little fish “swims” in the water.  Jake is fascinated by this toy!  Every time we put him in his crib now, he automatically pushes himself up onto his elbows and stares at the toy, waiting for me to turn it on!!  I think it’s helping him work on his muscle development and his strength too, because he will try and keep himself up for as long as possible, until he falls asleep from the sheer exhaustion of trying to prop himself up to watch the aquarium.  Here is a picture of him examining it on Christmas morning!!


I am noticing more and more how much stronger Jake is getting.  When I put him in his exersaucer now, he actually will use his legs to push himself so that he is standing up (something he never used to do).  When I put him down on his back to play, he automatically rolls over onto his tummy and tries to hold his head up as high as possible.  When I go into his room in the morning, he is rarely in the same position in bed.  I don’t know how he does it, but he shimmies himself all over the crib every night!  One night I actually woke up because I heard his aquarium playing music…somehow he had shimmied himself all the way up to it, and turned it on!!  All these things are encouraging, as I feel like he is starting to make strides towards the next step (sitting up on his own).

All in all, it was a great holiday.  Curtis is back to work today, and I have the song “back to life, back to reality” stuck in my head.  It’s not a bad thing though…I’m looking forward to this next season and all the new milestones and joys that will accompany it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Back to life, Back to reality…

  1. Gillian Marchenko

    January 9, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Oh my, what a gorgeous little man! I am glad your Holiday was so great :).

     
  2. Laura

    January 9, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    A belated Merry Christmas to you and your family! Jake is such a cutie!

     

Leave a Reply

 
