RSS

Another milestone!

24 Nov

Rice Cereal anyone?!

Yep, Jake is now officially learning how to eat!  I know that I probably could have waited a little longer, since his adjusted age is only 4 1/2 months.  But I feel like he is starting to get more irritated and grumpy, and i think it’s because he’s still hungry!  So…out came the rice cereal…and he seems to really enjoy it!

(side note: for those who are not aware, when babies are born prematurely, they have two “ages” for the first couple of years of life.  Their “actual age” is how old they are from the day they were born, so Jake is 6 months old.  Their “adjusted age” is the age they would be if they had made it to full term, so Jake is 4 1/2 months old.  This actually makes a difference, because there are a lot of developmental differences between a 4 1/2 month old and a 6 month old, so although Jake is technically 6 months old, he should be functioning developmentally at the level of a 4 1/2 month old…which he is!!)

We are heading to a conference this weekend put on by “Ups and Downs” (Calgary Down Syndrome Association).  The conference is geared specifically for parents of infants and toddlers who have Down syndrome, so I think it will be a great resource, and maybe will even help us start to network with other people.  Most of the time, I feel pretty alone in this, and it sure would be nice to have some acquaintances who have gone through / are going through the same thing.  My guess would be that most people who read my blog are my wonderful family and friends, but if there is anyone out there who is reading this who has any information on parent groups / play groups / etc… in Calgary for kids with Down syndrome, please message me and let me know.  I would love to become more connected!  If you leave a message on my “Resources” page, it will not show up on my blog, but will instead get sent straight to my email.

And, one more to leave you with, since it is just so darn cute!  Happy getting-into-the-Christmas-spirit day!!  (We decorated our tree last night, so I am pretty much in Christmas heaven today!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
